We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW what a perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Canal Bridge

Comfortable Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable Lounge
Canal Bridge: Large Kitchen to seat up to 14 Canal Bridge House, Brecon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Comfortable Lounge
Canal Bridge: Large Kitchen to seat up to 14
Canal Bridge House, Brecon
6 Bedrooms, all with private bathroom facilities
Secluded Rear Courtyard, ideal for a bbq
Secure bicycle storage and wash-down area
Just a stone's throw from the Brecon Canal & towpath
Just off the Watton, within 5 mins walk of town centre
Games Room with Pool Table, TV, Wii.
Loads of Games, Books, Puzzles available
3 Doubles: 3 Twin Rooms
All with private shower room facilities
Room 4 Double, en-suite
Local Park within 1 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alvinandm...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW what a perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived we were greeted by Kate with a wonderful welcome pack with the added bonus of freshly baked Welsh cakes very welcome after a long drive. The house was perfect for 6 couple, very well equipped with all mod cons and bathroom for every couple. All beds were comfortable with lovely bed lined a good quality towels.The house is in the middle of village a few minutes walk from the canal ideal setting for walks, restaurants and pubs. There is so much to say about this accommodation but one word will cover all EXCELLENT.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Too many to mention
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayEssBe
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, well equipped house in good location”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We filled the 6 bedroom house during a family get-together and were very pleasantly surprised at how well-equipped and supplied the house was. I won't describe the accommodation in detail as the owners have done that on their website and on the Brecon Holiday Cottages site. It is as described. It really is suitable for 12 adults in 6 bedrooms (I mention this because I've stayed in self-catering houses where the assumption is made that some of the occupants will be children and so some rooms are sized for them - not the case here). The number of shower-rooms/bathrooms & toilets is great - one for each bedroom and an extra one. The kitchen appliances looked new and worked well. Lots of everything you'd need in a kitchen. We did some big cooking and used the big barbecue too as the weather was good. There's lots for kids, too - a corridor packed with books and games. The location is good - a very short walk into town or a minute's walk to the canal tow-path. There is a Rugby club across the road that is very well used with lots of family events while we were there, but it didn't affect us. The people of the town are very friendly and the town is lovely, with plenty cafes & restaurants within walking distance. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Excellent place for a get-together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it really is equipped for a large group - with lots of showers and toilets.
Liked least: Lack of wifi (nit-picking here- but our ability to use our data devices depended a lot on our providers coverage. Phone and texts were fine with all providers but not many had 3G reception) Wifi would have made it easier.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSB17
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great stay for larger groups”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in summer as 10 adults, three kids and one toddler.
It's clean, bright and very well equipped for a short stay rental with loads of kitchen kit, BBQ, outdoor seating, plenty of sofa room in the main living room and smaller games/TV room. Loads of showers, comfy beds, proper bike parking also for mountain bikers.

Not all rooms were ensuite but there was a bathroom per bedroom which is great. It's a very short walk into town or for a picturesque stroll by the river or canal in the other direction. It was good for us all to be able to be together without constantly hopping between accommodations or bothering other guests!

Some noise from the rugby club across the way on the saturday night but it didn't go on late and otherwise was peaceful and comfortable, I would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the number of bathrooms
Liked least: lack of wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfors, middlesex, UK
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 7 Bathrooms and large living room.
Liked least: Parking space was a bit small for 4 cars but enough for 3.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
G J
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Canal Bridge as a large family group , as we were staying for a wedding in Brecon. , We have stayed in cottage and self catering stays many times over the years , with our 4 children friends and our dog , and we have never stayed in a property that has had so much thought put into the furnishings and facilities!
Everything was spotlessly clean , beds were comfortable , towels generous and of a lovely thick quality , lots of powerful showers.The kitchen was huge , and was really well equipped , so feeding the masses was fine!

Lovely little courtyard garden with a great BBQ, large table and chairs , so perfect for summer evenings.The lounge was cosy , with plenty of comfortable seating , a nice big T.V. and lots of thought put into providing appropriate side tables etc.Games room a great addition for young and old , which meant we could split into smaller groups too.
So all the basics well and truly covered!!!
What makes this property stand out from the crowd for us was all the extra touches that make all the difference .
Plenty of toilet roll [ how many times have we been to self catering houses where there's barely enough to get through the first night before the shopping arrives]. A welcome basket of fruit bread butter tea coffee,and milk, together with HOMEMADE welsh cakes! dog bowls and some little treats for Poppy . Some spare dishwasher tablets , foil , bin bags etc ,to get us through the first day . Liquid soap in all the bathrooms, and I could go on and on .This is in my opinion is how self catering should be done !Thank you so much , we had a superb time , and now we have discovered how beautiful The Brecon Beacons are , we will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome , the cleanliness, the extras!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$340
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing