We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It pays to look until you find what you really...”

Review of The Bull Pens

The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens
Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Lower Bull Pen kitchen
The  contemporary upstairs living room in The Upper Bull Pen
The downstairs living room
Double bedroom in the Upper Bull Pen
En-Suite Bathroom
King Bedroom
King Bathroom
Twin room with view of the farm and surrounding hills
En-Suite Shower Room
Dining Room area of Lower Bull Pen
Spacious dining area with the Upper Bull Pen
View of the barns
Our resident bull - Eclipse
The view at the top of the farm
Llanfihangel Nant Bran Village
The New Play Area
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Highclere...
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It pays to look until you find what you really want”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We like farm-style cottages, but this was the best so far. My wife searched for ages and eventually settled on this one; we're glad she did. We stayed 4 nights and found the fixtures and fittings first class, with everything you need. The style suited us perfectly, a mixture of classic and modern, from the lovely little log burner to the underfloor heating under the tiles, excellent use of natural light via large windows and sky lights, yet wonderfully warm in spite of the large size of the rooms. This, and the rather well insulated building, meant that 3 of us walked around indoors barefoot pretty much the entire time; my wife kept her slippers on as always. No internet the first night (thanks to a storm before we arrived) at first seemed an imposition, but they soon fixed that and we were back in touch with the outside world - what a pity! (and I'm referring to the amount of time we spent doing business and checking emails etc. in the evenings after they fixed it - not their fault but ours). On reflection, we agree that our best day/night there was when we had no access to internet & mobile signals. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR... if you can, work it so that you are not required urgently at home or work and then book a few days at The Bull Pens - with just those you love and be "uncontactable"; you won't regret it. Fiona and Brian are wonderful. They leave you to rest and enjoy but are available should you need anything. Our children loved feeding the cows and Brian was great with our special needs son; he was delighted to meet the "Big Bull"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of property, warmth great service and excellent beds
Liked least: Tha it rained so much (which could not be helped)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing break in a stunning venue”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say anything bad about our stay at the Bull Pens. We stayed from Friday afternoon until midday on Sunday. The weather was awful and a storm meant the power cut out a few times during our first evening. But Fiona and her husband came in to give us torches and check everything was OK.

The rooms were spotless and well furnished. The converted barn was huge and there was lots of space for us to do our own thing (I travelled with my partner and our friends who are a couple too) if we wanted to or sit in the lounge in the evening to relax by the fire.

A great stay with great company in a stunning place. Particularly loved the clear skies, we were able to see the milky way at night, which I've only been able to see in the recesses of Mull in Scotland before. The hot tub was awesome too. Can't wait to come back in the summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megan b
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My fiance and I stayed at the bull pens last week for a one night stay to celebrate our engagement. I contacted various cottages with log fires and hot tubs in the hope i could be accomadated at such short notice. Various came back with unreasonable costs and were not flexible with the check out times.
I stumbled across this beauty, and thought there was no way I could afford to stay and stay past the check out time. To my suprise, Fiona responded promptly, with a very reasonable rate for the night and agreed we could stay later at no extra cost!
When we arrived Fiona greeted us with her lovely friendly smile and welcomed us to her cottage. The cottage was breath taking, with beautifully finished interior, traditional wooden beams throughout, lovely spacious rooms and a sense of a homely feel. Fiona had left us with champagne and flutes as a gift, which meant a lot! The hot tub was another finishing touch it was so warm and relaxing!
The following day we looked out of the window and all we could see were hills and beautiful views of the mountains, it really felt magical!
Weve decided to come back again in the summer with family as this is such a perfect place for newly engaged couples to families or for somebody looking to get away for a night or two! Completely gutted we had to leave but super excited to come back!
I never write reviews but felt I really wanted to share with others how beautiful,magical,clean,homely yhe cottages are and kind Fiona and her husband are also
Thankyou for a memorable stay and cant wait to see you again!! Xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious accommodation. Layout and finishing touches well thought out, and warm welcome and help from the owners much appreciated. Beds and linen divine, kitchens large and well equipped and dining area lovely for a large group to socialise together. Bonus aspects were the wood burners, hot tub, childrens play area and a warm invitation for the children to get involved in the farm.. We rented both bull pens and it worked really well for 2 families of friends to spend time together with the adjoining door making it feel like one accommodation. Location great for a "get away from it all" break with the views to go with it. But don't worry you can still stay in touch with the world if you wish with good wifi connection and the option to have your shopping from the supermarket delivered! Am struggling to find anything negative to say - not important to us but might bother some people that mobile phone reception is poor - not something the owners can do anything about and they kindly offered use of their landline if needed. Would highly recommend staying at the Bullpens - fantastic accommodation and nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to choose - so many good aspects
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12erin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Idyllic rural getaway with modern accommodations and a fabulous hostess!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We could not be more pleased with the lovely Fiona and her beautiful property, set in the countryside with lovely views all around. We booked this weekend getaway VERY last minute but Fiona was more than accommodating and was waiting for us with an immaculately clean house and absolutely no fuss. She was so easy to deal with during booking, provided special directions to help us find our way to the farm, and even checked in with us when we were on our way to make sure we didn't have any problems on our journey from Portsmouth.

The bullpens are a fantastic property-- we stayed in the Upper Bullpen, with a JACUZZI a few steps from the front door...let me just tell you how amazing that was after a full day walking the Pen y Fan, Corn Du and Cribyn peaks!! The lounge comes stocked with a big basket of logs for the awesome wood burning stove, and you can enjoy the view of the welsh countryside out the deck doors. The double bed feels like you're sleeping on clouds it's so comfortable, and both bathrooms are very contemporary/modern and tastefully finished. Kitchen is spacious with plenty of room for cooking an elaborate meal, and the heated slate floors keep your toes warm!

I would absolutely recommend this property for any size group - the two of us enjoyed having all the space to spread out but it would easily accommodate families and large groups. Thank you Fiona for making our stay so easy and comfortable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$839
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing