We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
60
57
52
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
57
52
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location few drinks budget hotel nice hotel great night fried eggs stayed here for nights function room night stay business trip booked this hotel good nights sleep following morning buffet breakfast room was large yogurt couldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Had read mixed reviews on the hotel and had been advised by colleagues not to stay here but as i didnt book it myself i didnt have an option; despite the warnings and some reviews i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is dated and probably in its day was fab, its clean and the room i had was very large and the bed was comfy. Food was good and the staff are excellent and very helpful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWynnstayArms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Lorraine,
Thank you for your review, that's great !
So pleased you stayed, despite having reservations about us and being pleasantly surprised.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future.
Best wishes
Jean Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Worst night in a hotel ever!!
checking in very busy but that was expected as stereophonics we’re playing in the town. So no problem. Once back to the room after gig firstly the window wouldn’t shut at all so the staff came and jammed it shut using a spoon and told us not to use it again. Then I tried using the shower and the power cut out so no lights(had to go to reception to get back on) this then happened a further 5 time in the space of a hour. Then tried to sleep and our room was directly above the smoking area.people singing until the early hours even after we phoned down and asked receptionist to tell them.

Would never stay again terrible

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cdaviesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWynnstayArms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for you feedback,
I hope you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
We are looking into the issues raised,
Thanking you
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Just popped in for quick lunch.
Had snack menu. Food was good service good price about right. Chips good sandwich nice
Place looked clean bar area had a few locals starting early doors drinking. But on the whole would go again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWynnstayArms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to us. We're glad you enjoyed your food and the atmosphere and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

POSITIVE
The location is perfect for getting around the city centre, and the free parking right in the property was ample and easy to get to. The staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to have a kettle in the room with ample supplies for tea and coffee, plus biscuits. Television was large with plenty of channels. The room was a good size with two chairs. The BEST chicken and gammon pie in the hotel restaurant - never knew a pie could taste that good AMAZING!

NEGATIVE
The bathroom door opening on to the vanity so it banged into you every time was a nuisance. The toilet never flushed the first time (mostly took 2-3 times which you had to stagger every few minutes or so). For a hotel, the toilet paper was budget thin - really? The water pressure was not great. If you sit up in bed to watch the television, your head is right where the lamps are and they are sharp! The bed was not that comfy, which you felt throughout the night because a good chunk of the night we heard the awful noise of what sounded like an air con (not sure where in the building because our room didn't have one), PLUS it was so hot in the room (window open or closed) sleep was erratic and broken - and it was not hot outside so unsure why so hot in the room. Worst lack of sleep ever. Our room was number 223 so avoid that for noise.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

the locals smelled of menopause and amino acids . i liked the rooms and area but it was polluted with people and its not what i expect from a welsh hotel . i was expecting to sleep on a bed of welshcakes and dragons

Room Tip: dont go !!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank longegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWynnstayArms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback, welsh cakes we can supply but we need a bit more notice for a Dragon.
Hope you see you when next in Wrexham
Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews