We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Iceland, same quality food and at least it will be hot ”
Review of The Fat Boar

The Fat Boar
Ranked #20 of 243 Restaurants in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$42
Description: We are independent bar and restaurant that provides fry food, drink and live music. Open seven days a week.
Restaurant details
Description: We are independent bar and restaurant that provides fry food, drink and live music. Open seven days a week.
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

Thought we would try the Thursday sharing box as reviews looked good. What a waste of money! Food was Iceland frozen quality. jalapeños burgers turned out to be a frozen low quality burger with raw peppers and some cheese. No sauce, or relish, was dry and inedible. Spring rolls were burnt and soggy, it takes effort to do that! Soggy cold chips and nachos covered in a nasty out of a jar sauce and cold chicken wings in another jar sauce. Cheaper to go to Iceland, buy the same rubbish and shove it in the oven, at least it would be hot. We collected the food from the fat boar, so wasn’t cold due to delivery time, just poor service, dreadful food and extremely expensive for what it is.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank warrior-women
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2021

Always great food, staff and very helpful too. Be great if they can speed up delivery times but I know it’s because they are always busy.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Taylor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Absolutely amazing food, cannot fault these guys for the service they are providing during the pandemic and the hard work. Food is of a great quality and the box meals they do every day is well worth the money for the amount of food you you get. Will be ordering from these guys in the future for definite.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Lbsaligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

Food was lovely (could have been warmer) lady on the phone was awfully rude and half the menu is missing off the website but phone is always busy so can never get through. Messaged on Facebook to ask to order a side and get told I will get a call to take payment as they’re not taking cash (fair enough). When I get a call I ask to pay PayPal (how I paid for our meals) for the side to which I’m denied as she doesn’t know the details to log in. She then demands to take my card details twice and when I say it doesn’t matter I will leave the extras, she puts the phone down. Food was lovely but think the service could have been better especially with so many other businesses struggling.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Taylo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Due to Covid 19 things clearly aren’t the same. And people / business should adapt to how things are now. I felt very unsafe here ! Tables were very close together they weren’t even 1m apart. They don’t ask you to scan the QR code when coming into the restaurant. Tables were sticky and felt dirty. Staff were walking round with masks on but just over there mouth and not there noses!!!! Very unprofessional!!! And table service was shocking. Started was lovely I had soup but my main dish was very disappointing I had the chicken birger there was hardly no taste to it only grease !

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank C5737SDsarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Boar also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Flintshire, North Wales
 

Been to The Fat Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.