We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Betws-y-Coed”
Swn-y-Dwr front elavation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swn-y-Dwr front elavation
Kitchen/dining for 12 persons
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Swn-y-Dwr front elavation
Kitchen/dining for 12 persons
Kitchen / Dining
Kitchen with view to the patio and garden
Living room
Living room and balcony
First floor landing
Bedroom 1, ensuite
Room1 en-suite
Bedroom 2, ensuite
Bedroom 3, ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
Family bathroom
Drying room
Patio and BBQ area
The view from balcony
Balcony
Side entrance from car parking
Off-street car parking
Garden
Garden
Garden and river
View of the Pont-y-Pair bridge from the garden
View from the Pont-y-Pair bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J0hnSue
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Betws-y-Coed”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a party of 9 staying for a week. Five brothers and sisters plus partners between the ages of 60-85 years. We chose Swn-y-Dwr as a base for a relaxing week driving around North Wales and exploring Snowdonia. We loved the appearance of this beautiful stone and slate cottage and the understated but tasteful decor and furnishings. Everything is as described and we were not disappointed. The beds were comfortable, the living room was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen was large and well equipped and the drying room was extremely useful on the wet days. The view from the balcony was great, overlooking the garden and the tree covered valley. Beside the cottage is a drive with plenty of space for our three cars. All the amenities in Betws are just a few steps away. Round the corner is a chippy, Spar shop and numerous eating places and shops. Every time we came back from sightseeing we looked forward to coming back to this lovely house. Nick and Emiko who live locally are most friendly and helpful and have obviously worked hard to provide a perfect holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate condition of house and furnishings
Liked least: no hand rail in bath for ease of access for less able bodied
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, very much appreciated. Emiko and I look forward to seeing you all again at Swn-y-Dwr.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui R
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful garden, great location”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Nick and Emiko have thought of everything to make your holiday wonderful. The house has been lovingly renovated and finished to a very high standard. The kitchen is immaculate, with two fridges, a small freezer, electric cooker, gas hob, dishwasher and washing machine. There are plenty of pans and enough plates, cups etc for a small army. The table is huge, so large gatherings are accommodated in comfort. The living room has wooden floors, a wood burning stove and plenty of seating. The beds are super comfy, just the job after a day of hiking. There are four bathrooms and Nick has installed a very high capacity water tank and solar panels to back up the centrally heated water, so there will always be hot water even if all the showers are used at the same time! The garden is a delight, backing on to the river (the house name means sound of water) and it has mature shrubs and trees.
In terms of location, it's just a short stroll to the high street, but tucked away off the main road. We mainly ate at the cottage, but enjoyed an evening in the local Welsh bistro. The pub Pont-y-Pair also did good food.
Nick and Emiko are very friendly and have created a really stunning holiday cottage. I really hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfort
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Well Jacqui what can we say other than thank you very much for your wonderful plaudits. We will also look forward to staying at your new premises in Scotland when you are up and running. Thanks again, Nick & Emiko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjAtt
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house and garden, great location”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much for our wonderful stay in your house.
We were a family of 3 generations and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The house was clean and modern, equipped with everything we needed. The children loved the garden, big enough to enjoy the sunshine or rest in the shade!
The house couldn't have been better located to explore Betws y Coed and enjoy our zip wire experience!
We will definitely be returning for longer next time!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thanks very much for your generous review. We look forward to seeing you all at Swn-y-Dwr next time.

Nick & Emiko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a cycling holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 7 mates from Leicester who came to Betws y Coed for a long weekend cycling. Swn y Dwr proved to be a perfect base. Comfortable and clean with all mod cons and in a great location in the village. The local cycling was brilliant. We had a fun day off-road riding the Marin Trail just 3 miles up the road and did some spectacular riding on the roads around Snowdonia. Lots of tough climbs including Hellfire Pass and brilliant high speed descents on good roads. Everyone had a great time. There was a secure bike store and Nick helpfully arranged to be in when the mountain bikes we had hired were delivered.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thanks very much for Andy for the plaudits. Both Emiko and I enjoyed having you and your friends stay at Swn-y-Dwr. We look forward to seeing you all again. A special thanks for leaving the house so very tidy and clean.

Nick & Emiko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful stylish comfortable house, the best possible holiday experience anyone could wish for.”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location of Swn y Dwr is unique; on the edge of a white water river surrounded by the village of Betwys Y Coed and some spectacular mountains.Access is easy, parking ample for 4 vehicles.
The cottage is newly refurbished with the highest quality fixtures and fittings. All necessary facilities are provided, every aspect of catering considered making cooking, cleaning and relaxing such a pleasure. The linen and bedding is of of a high standard, and all the furnishings are modern and tastefully chosen.
The attention to detail is evident thoroughout the house and the owners couldn't be more accommodating.
I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Swn-y-Dwr. Emiko and I were charmed to have met you last Friday lunchtime when we greeted you and we are delighted that you enjoyed Swn-y-Dwr so much. Many thanks, N & E
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing