We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage and great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen/Diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Diner
Cosy living area with log burning stove Local views of Penmachno
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Kitchen/Diner
Cosy living area with log burning stove
Local views of Penmachno
Living area
River Machno, Penmachno
Kitchen with back door to small yard with table/chairs
Bedroom with double bed
Bedroom with double bed
Shower room
Llondy, cosy cottage on edge of Penmachno village
Machno River, Penmachno
Village Green
The Eagles, the local pub
Penmachno church, snow scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TyDe_21
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage and great location”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in what was a really comfy and cosy cottage. It was perfect for our stay - this traditional cottage is very clean and well equipped with all the facilities we needed - we just had to bring our food, drinks and ourselves.

This cottage is perfect for 2 people - not suitable for any more than that so don't try to squeeze anyone else in. No mobile phone coverage - which was like heaven - but there is a public phone box in the village and wi-fi is available at the cottage if you can't bear to be without. There is a very small seating area at the back of the property but we didn't use that.

Penmachno was an ideal location for us. There are no shops in the village but it's just 4.5 miles to Bewts Y Coed. This really was a 'get away from it all' stay. Pretty walks in the immediate area and very easy to get to the tourist areas.

Loved our stay - we'll be visiting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceebeebee...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay and great base for all levels of walking”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage is very well equipped for 2 people self- catering and the tiny kitchen area very well thought through. We cooked for ourselves each day so this was important. It was a pretty chilly, misty and rainy week away and were pleased the cottage is warm with storage heaters. We didn’t need to light a fire. The bed was comfy and Linda extremely helpful. It was great to have a very friendly pub literally to fall into over the road. Purple Moose beer and a couple of others to try each eve was great and the organic eggs they sold a wonderful find. The pub doesn’t open every night and only serves very basic food, so bare this in mind.
We walked a couple of days from the cottage using a cheap guidebook called Walks from Penmachno pub. by Kittiwake books bought at Betwsycoed tourist information. Always take an OS map too as it was easy to get lost in the vast expanse of woodland with assorted forestry and smaller tracks and paths. There were numerous Penmachno mountain biking tracks locally too.
The cottage was near enough to do Snowdon- yes, we managed one clear day, and many other mountains and hills in the Carnedds, Glyders, Arrans etc. We also had a day touring the coast through Porthmadog along the Lynn peninsula to the Whispering Sands beach at Porthole ( amazing!) So a very good central location for a range of pastimes, all within an hour or so.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rteutsch
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage getaway for two”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was the perfect size for two people. The rooms were cosy but still big enough for two people. The cottage was very well presented and it was lovely to sit down in the evening to a log fire. Really close to lots of great walks and visitor activities, It really is the prefect place for a getaway!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing