We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable, relaxing, quiet holiday cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove
Embrace total relaxation Lounge with inglenook fireplace and woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove
Embrace total relaxation
Lounge with inglenook fireplace and woodburning stove
Welcome to Ysbyty Ifan
Upstairs master bedroom
Beautiful welsh countryside at Ysbyty Ifan
Downstairs double bedroom
Dining Kitchen will all 'mod cons'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Malcolm B
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, relaxing, quiet holiday cottage in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent holiday cottage for the family and excellent value for money because it sleeps up to 6. It's a nice mixture of the old and new, the original 18th century rooms and a big modern kitchen and dining room. The village is quiet and the cottage is unconnected (no mobile network) so it is a great place to escape to. The cottage has everything you need to a high standard. Betws-y-Coed is 15 mins drive from the cottage. You're left to enjoy your holiday and if you need anything you can just pop across the road to the house and ask.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big fire place in the living room and big modern kitchen with lots of light
Liked least: Curtains, didn't block the light enough so we tended to wake up very early
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for taking time to review your stay. We are delighted you had a good time and hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavruk
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs some superficial DIY”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage looks pleasant from the outside, was warm and inviting inside. On closer inspection parts were slightly grubby with spiders webs hanging in and around some lights and light shades and empty boxes stacked behind the TV. The cooker was also difficult to figure out due to the markings on the controls being worn out and sticky. The door on the oven was also worn and difficult to close properly. In the bathroom (which is downstairs) the extractor was hanging loose from the ceiling and the main light was not working so the only light in the bathroom was from the light over the mirror. The outside back garden is unkept and to get access to the patio set or BBQ takes some fine manipulation of the broken shed lock.

Upstairs the decor is dated and lacks a cottage feel. My impression was that the owners dumped what they no longer needed/used into the cottage. The best part was the fireplace and wood burner which was the most characteristic part of the cottage and a warm and snuggly heat when lit. One slightly puzzling feature is that the cottage has beds for six people but only two/two seater sofa's in the lounge.

If you need mobile phone access during your stay then forget as in the village there was no service on any network. The cottage also has no WiFi.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Liked least: The cooker
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to feed back on your stay. We are glad that you felt the cottage was warm and cosy. We were disappointed to hear that you felt that the cottage needed some superficial DIY. We have arranged to inspect immediately. We have deliberately avoided wifi to ensure that it is a "get away from it all" place, but in light of your comments will survey past guests for their views.
Kindest regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenBerr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great return visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit in 4 months and did not disappoint. We took the road left out of the village this time for some wonderful views which we didn't see first time round. Good location, clean and well priced.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment. We are glad you enjoyed your second stay this year! We hope to welcome you back in the future,
Best wishes,
Ian and Carol Hopwood
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireLou...
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning and perfect!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Bryn Conwy Cottage and we certainly hope to return again. A beautiful and quiet location with lovely views. The Cottage itself had a very lovely feel to it - plenty of room for myself, my husband and three children (aged 11, 6 and 2). It had everything we could possibly need and more. The children loved the small play park in the field behind the Cottage - there was an air of "feeling safe" in the little Hamlet. The added bonus was that the Cottage was so remote that there was no mobile signal (unless we stood in the middle of the field at the back of the Cottage) and no wifi. It was the perfect getaway. Betws-y-Coed was beautiful and we did some lovely walks up in the mountains/hills as well as shopping. My husband and my eldest (11) conquered Mount Snowdon and we hope to all go one day. The Cottage's location meant that we felt everything was in reach, but at a non imposing distance. We could not praise it highly enough. Thank you so much :) xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slippery Stairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about Bryn Conwy. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely family holiday. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
246asd
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a laid back holiday”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I liked the trust Carol had with guests staying there - no asking for refundable deposits, post a book back later if you haven't finished it, lots of toys, plenty of crockery, no coin in the slot meters, leave the key under the rock when you go.
Thanks for a good holiday.
Dave.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the cottage. Its great to hear that you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
Best wishes
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing