We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great traditional Welsh cottage, perfect base for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Is-y-Graig

New front door, new windows, new gutters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New front door, new windows, new gutters
The cottage viewed from the road Cosy living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
New front door, new windows, new gutters
The cottage viewed from the road
Cosy living room
Snowdon in March
Well equipped kitchen
Moel Hebog and Beddgelert church
Spacious hall
Well equipped kitchen
Beddgelert cottages
Master Bedroom
Living room looking towards hall
Beddgelert bridge
Our new sun room
Twin bedroom
Woodland walk
The road outside the cottage
Our patio garden
Our new sunroom
Aberglaslyn path in June
Our new sun room extension
Outside of Cottage
Our pet robin
The hall looking towards the kitchen
Moel Hebog
Beddgelert cottages
Cottage entrance
Beddgelert with Snowdon in the background
Slate sill uncovered in the master bedroom
New curtains in the living room
The hall with new front door and shoe rack
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine N
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Upon arriving at the cottage we very quickly realised that we didn't have any hot water or heating, the boiler was not working. We contacted the local shop from where we collected the keys and they informed us that they could not help and we should have the contact details for the handy man in a folder. After many calls we got hold of the handy man who told us that there was a problem with the boiler, he told us to do a couple of things with it and if they didn't work we should call him back. None of his suggestions worked abd we could not get hold of him again. We eventually managed to get hold of the owner who said she would try to get hold of said hanyman which she did and told us he would come in the morning. As a group we decided that as repair of the boiler could not be relied upon we would stay 1 night and leave the next morning. A fee of 60 GB pound was agreed upon and the rest of our money would be refunded. The refund came through within a couple of days but I could not believe that a booking fee had been taken... We had to find alternative accommodation for the next night at a greater cost than the cottage. Before we got to the cottage we were provided with the biggest list of conditions I have ever seem. One of these conditions including stripping off the beds before we left and putting the linen into the washing machine, drying off the linen that may have been left by the previous tenants and watering the plants to name just a few.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Boiler not working - no hot water or heating. The second bedroom had no where to hang up clothes and the linen was cheap and not very clean. The kitchen was full of unnecessary items needed in a holiday let.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
We are very sorry that you had a problem with the boiler; it was rapidly fixed. I spoke to your husband on the phone shortly after you arrived at the cottage and arranged for you to have hot showers at a nearby guesthouse, which you declined. Alternative heating is supplied by our six electric fans and multi-fuel stove. As agreed, I refunded �100 of the �160 I received for your two night rental. The booking fee was charged by Tripadvisor/Holiday Lettings.
There are two rails for hanging clothes in the second bedroom. I hadn?t realized that there was a problem with the bedding and I will replace it as appropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great traditional Welsh cottage, perfect base for a Snowdonia holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Is-Y-Graig. It's a beautiful traditional Welsh cottage full of character with plenty of modern touches. Very spacious downstairs rooms for relaxing, eating or cleaning up after a good day's walking in Snowdonia. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you could need plus a small laundry room with washer & dryer. Perfectly located to explore the national park: we managed to pack several good walks into the week around Beddgelert including Snowdon; Zip-World Titan at Blaenau Ffestiniog; beaching at Harlech; and Portmeirion. It's exceptionally quiet too, at night all you can hear is the burbling of the stream that runs through the village. The essentials are there for kids too - Wifi & Sky TV

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking is on-road, but not an issue
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelMMi...
Miton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fabulous location, try the "golden mile" for your morning run!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having a lovely week here in this beautiful place. The cottage has a lovely old world charm and the kitchen is great, really well equipped even a food processor, a cake was duly baked!
Great location a stones throw from the shops and eateries and some fabulous walks from the doorstep. I am running around Gelerts Trail each morning, a one mile circular route round the river, a beautiful place to exercise, managed six laps before breakfast today and raring to go again tomorrow. First time ever in Snowdonia and we will,be back, picnic on the beach for lunch and a walk round a mountain lake before dinner....perfect. Tesco delivered here for us but the local shop has some lovely local produce and another time I would not buy so much in advance. Very good pizza from Glaslyn Ice cream parlour and restaurant on our first night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, character, sun room and kitchen
Liked least: The beds could do with new mattresses in the twin room and the wifi was a bit erratic at times
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review. The twin bedroom mattresses and internet provider have now been replaced. Unfortunately, Trip Advisor didn't show me that part of the review so I was unaware of it until a couple of weeks ago. Please contact me directly with any concerns about the cottage in future. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is beautiful, really well equipt and very comfortable.. We did have a problem collecting the keys as the shop was closed when we got there. (Probably our fault as it states on the booking (in small print)to contact,the owner if you are going to be there after 5pm) However the collection was after 4pm so only a small window of opportunity to collect. This has been now addressed as this statement is now at the top of the information booklet that is sent once booked. Really enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a fantastic spot”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A great little character cottage, just 50 yards from the heart of the town.

We stayed as a group of 7 (including a baby) and had plenty of room around the cottage. Nice sized bedrooms, great kitchen and a lovely snug-feeling lounge with fire. No garden, which is a shame, but you have the whole of Snowdonia as your garden!

The only downside would be the bathrooms. The one upstairs with the bedrooms is right up under the roof, meaning you're showing at a 45-degree angle! And the other is cold and downstairs off the kitchen. But that's a very small thing.

We loved it and will definitely consider it next time we're up in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location - and a big family kitchen and cosy lounge
Liked least: cold/cramped bathroom and banging my head on the doorframes!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
We do have a small enclosed patio garden with table and chairs for 6 people, as well as room for sun loungers. I don't know why the downstairs bathroom was cold as I've never noticed this. Perhaps someone turned off the radiator?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing