We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Great Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aran Cottage

Aran Cottage - front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aran Cottage - front view
kitchen diner small double
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Aran Cottage - front view
kitchen diner
small double
Master bedroom
Snug - lounge
lounge off kitchen
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Master Bedroom
Double bedroom
Small double room
Small double room
Twin room
Additional toilet
Main bathroom
Local area
The grounds
The front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Feebee989
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Cottage”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a fab time in this cottage with 6 friends for the weekend. Very convenient for the Watkin Path and some other nice walks around too. The house itself is great and the rooms are all lovely. It's really easy to find as it's right on the main road. Communication with the owners beforehand was great, they were very helpful with local knowledge. There is no phone service at all which is great and there is a payphone 300m away if needed.

I wouldn't recommend it for 10 people as the sofa bed is in the kitchen/dinner/living room and not in the separate lounge.

The only thing that let the cottage down a bit was that the kitchen crockery wasn't very clean and there were mouldy tea-bags in the teapot when we arrived. This was a shame as everything else was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage was charming
Liked least: Should have been cleaned properly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie C
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Lovely place in a great location close to Beddgelert. The cottage has everything you need. We visited in the bleakest weekend in January, so it was very cold, but once you got a fire going it was lovely and cosy. Also let us take the dogs too, so was great for all the family. Friendly owners, very accommodating. No signal available for mobile phones, but that's not necessarily a bad thing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern E
Pencombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to spend your holidays”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Second time in the Red Dragon. First in the Log Cabin, this time in the Aran Cottage which was perfect for our group of eight with a baby. Comfy home with loads of space, ideal for the rainy days, great kitchen for long evening talks, fire places, ideal position to explore the environment on foot without the need for a car, lovely owners who put in the extra effort to make our stay there perfect. We will come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It didn't feel like a holiday cottage but like a real home!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We rented Aran Cottage and also the other cottages on site for our son's wedding at nearby Llyn Gwynant. We had a fantastic stay. The cottages were spotlessly clean, cosy and comfortable. Aran Cottage had good sized rooms and even though we were full to capacity (there were 10 of us in Aran Cottage) we were not crowded. It is a wonderful large house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: How comfortable the house was.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tesspip
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation, beautiful location and great owners!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked Aran Cottage for a long weekend to attend a family wedding nearby. We were a party of ten ranging from pensioner to three year old plus two dogs. I was very impressed with the space available, all of the rooms are a great size and while it was spacious it still had a very cosy atmosphere. The large bathroom proved a real bonus especially when the groom and his best man and 3 ushers turned up on the morning of the wedding to get ready! On arrival we were very nicely surprised to find wine, chocs, fresh flowers and bread on the dining room table as a welcome. Claire even offered to come and pick us up from the wedding venue to save us getting a cab.
All in all we had a wonderful stay and plan to have another family visit next year .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room for a family of ten
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
You are more than welcome and we hope to see you again next year all @ Red Dragon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$336
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing