We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Popty Pennant

Popty Pennant - the old bakehouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Popty Pennant - the old bakehouse
Summer 2013 Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Popty Pennant - the old bakehouse
Summer 2013
Sitting room
Sitting room with old range
Kitchen
Sitting room
Crog loft bedroom
General view of Plas Pennant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IanHP
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a nice break in this rather stunning corner of the world. Along and up a beautiful valley, just over the border into Wales, Pennant farm sits at the end of a quiet and narrow lane and has lovely views over the Ceiriog Valley. This used to be part of the Chirk Castle estate and the castle itself is only a 5 minute drive, although my wife and I preferred the 40 minute walk part of which was through quiet up-and-down lanes and part over fields.
Popty Pennant itself is small, but fine for a couple, "cute" and "quaint" as my wife would say. I liked its sense of history evoked by the stone floor and large, aged fireplace. We both liked the chickens, geese and horses, all easy to see.
If you'd prefer a larger and/or posher place, Capel Pennant is the detached neighbouring rental property, owned by the same people. The owners were unobtrusive but friendly, nice people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for going to the trouble to leave a review and particularly for your positive comments - it really is much appreciated. We very much hope to see you again at Plas Pennant at some time in the future..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheels527
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Delivered everything as advertised and more. Absolute peace, outstanding all round views, very friendly and helpful owners. The cottage delivered in full, beautifully restored to a very high standard, very comfortable and had everything a person could want. Friendly dogs, gorgeous horses, chickens & geese free to roam around, we even had a pair of partridges that visited every morning. If your looking for perfect and idyllic this is it! Lots to do and see in the surrounding area, Chirk Castle, Erddig, Plas Newydd, Llangollen, Llandudno to name but a few. We were given a very warm welcome wherever we went. Very very enjoyable and I would highly recommend a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you so much for your positive comments - they really are very much appreciated. You were the perfect guests too and we hope to see you again at Plas Pennant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Mark g
1 review
“Tiny, quite, scenic, helpfull owners, somewhere to escape.”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It's a very compact property with everything you need about 5 mins drive into the hills from chirk castle.very helpfull owners frienly dogs chickens and geese roam about. I would recommend to couples and would be happy to return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicearmy
Salisbury
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Marvellous and most memorable”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A delightful cosy cottage. This is an ideal hideaway, a real rural retreat to recover from the stresses of working life. It was a joy to return here after a long days walking in the Welsh hills around Llangollen. The roads are narrow, so you have to give yourself plenty of time. Nick sent full instructions which were easy to follow.

The cottage is well equipped, and although it is small, there is everything you need for a comfortable stay. The heating system responds quickly and Derek lit the log fire for me in the evenings. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. There is no mobile phone signal (so no one can get at you) but strong Wifi which was helpful.

Next door, Capel Pennant, is an old Chapel which is also converted for a holiday let, so Pennant farm could accommodate two couples. Derek kindly showed me inside and it is stunning, with more space than Popty for those who need it.

I loved it here and will always remember Popty Pennant, one of the finest holiday lets I have visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: Cockerel, geese and chickens (eggs were nice though) I have bird phobia
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy V
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful peaceful place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely cozy cottage to escape the rushed pace of every day life. Peaceful, quiet, beautiful countryside views, in a word idyllic. The location is perfect, surrounded by rolling hills, no suburban noise at all, just cows, sheep, hens and geese. Nick the owner was very kind and gave us a lift into town as it had taken 8 hours to drive 210 miles due to traffic! Nothing was too much trouble, friendly and helpful. Nick recommend some places to eat and they were just perfect. The cottage has everything you need, the bed is super comfortable, with quality linens, pillows and duvet. The kitchen is compact, but well equipped. The whole cottage is quaint and small, buts all part of it's charm. The log fire (yes in July as it was chilly) was a god send and we wee supplied with logs and kindling. Simple touches like supplying candles for romantic evenings made it special. We would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing