We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful quiet relaxing place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Popty Pennant

Popty Pennant - the old bakehouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Popty Pennant - the old bakehouse
Summer 2013 Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Popty Pennant - the old bakehouse
Summer 2013
Sitting room
Sitting room with old range
Kitchen
Sitting room
Crog loft bedroom
General view of Plas Pennant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chumley69
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful quiet relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If you want a quiet relaxing place to stay in I think you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere which will give you the feeling of wilderness and isolation and yet still handily located to the main roads. We booked the Bake House at Popty Pennant for the Valentines weekend and when we arrived we were greated by the owner Nick who showed us our parking space and then led us to the Bake House. There are chickens and geese roaming around the buildings and sheep in the fields which all adds to the air of 'country'.

The Bake House is compact, some might say tiny but for the two of us for 3 nights it was perfect. Nick had the lovely open fire lite and ready for us and every evening when we got back there was a fresh supply of kindling and logs for that evening. The main living area has two comfy armchairs a dinner table and two chairs and a chest of drawers for clothes and the such. We didn't use it but there's a TV\DVD Player and a Sky Box if you want that kind of thing. There's a decent sized cupboard under the stairs for bags and cases and hanging jackets and there was an Iron and Ironing board in there too.

The kitchen was well supplied with pots, pans, crockery, cutlery, cups and glasses and managed to cook up a half decent steak for dinner one evening. There is a decent combi boiler in the kitchen and hot water is always available and the central heating is turned on and off from there too if you want it. The little toilet and shower room is off the side of the kitchen and again whilst small serves its purpose well with a powerful little shower.

And so to bed... The upstairs in keeping with everything else is small and basically an open mezzanine floor over the main liviing space and slightly larger than the very comforatable double bed. There's more storage at the end of the bed and the open fire can be seen and appreciated from the side.

The views are lovely from outside and Nick encouraged us to wander round the gardens if we wanted to. We found it a great location to explore North Wales and found our way quite easily into Snowdonia National Park and beyond to places like Port Merion and Ffestiniog.

All in all we found Popty Pennant a lovely place to stay and will almost definitely return.

Paul & Tracy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, welcome, peace and quiet
Liked least: We found nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aweemoose
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful 5* cottage on a gorgeous countryside estate. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Popty Pennant, The Old Bake house, in May 2014 for a weekend away. We did get lost on our way and Nick one of the owners drove out to the main road to meet us and guide us to the estate. We found this to be a very warm welcome from him and when we arrived we were amazed with the beauty of Popty Pennant. The love and attention that has been given to restoring the buildings is obvious and the gardens are beautiful. I had high expectations from seeing photos on the internet but my expectations were out met. The Old Bake house is small so don't expect room for much luggage and the stairs may be difficult for those with mobility difficulties, but it is beautiful. The log fire was on when we arrived which was very cosy. We cooked for ourselves in the fully equipped kitchen, it had everything you would find at your kitchen at home. The shower was lovely and powerful and there were quality toiletries provided. The bed was the comfiest bed I have ever slept in! I felt everything was very luxurious.

Popty Pennant does have a very strong sense of quality and attention to detail. The cleanliness was outstanding, everything felt brand new. It was a treat to stay there and I would highly recommend it others. We would love to return again. The owners have written a visitors guide book which we found very useful. It has information of local pubs, restaurants and sights to see. We travelled out to Snowdonia one day and found it easy to get to.

I booked Popty Pennant as a romantic get away for myself and my boyfriend and we felt so lucky to have stayed there. It really is a beautiful location and worth every penny. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of finish in the cottage, attention to detail and warmth of hosts
Liked least: That we had to leave and go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanefromW...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wonderful stay in an amazing location. Nick and Derek were so helpful and had created a folder containing all kinds of useful information about places to visit and places to eat. Really enjoyed our visit and left feelilng recharged!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: going home :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANGIE2555
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven. ...”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

quirky..peaceful...idillic...restful..charming...a perfect get away. we enjoyed cycling to the aquaduct and Llangollen. .walking to chirk castle..lying in a pretty poppy field watching the clouds...enjoying a romantic meal at " the hand " and enjoying a glass of red in the beautiful garden while watching the horses..geese and playing ball with the gorgeous wenna....cant wait for a return trip...thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven. .nick and derek x x x x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PfadisGab...
Gablitz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect basecamp for exploring Northern Wales”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

After getting used to drive on the left side and after finding our way trough the very narrow roads leading to The Pennant, we discovered a lovely farm and the rather small but cosy bakery, where we stayed for 10 days.
The bakery has really everything you need to relax and to get away from everything (even your mobile would not work, unless you go for a little walk uphill).
There are nice people, a beautiful garden and lots of animals at The Pennant - sheep, horses, swallows, bats, rabbits, pheasants, cows, chicken, ducks, ....... and the dogs.
We had a great time at the bakery.
The hike from The Pennant to Llangollen and Dinas Bran, a ride on the Llangollen Railway, a cruise on the canal to the acquäduct and a visit to Chirk Castle are highly recommendable.
Having a car gave us the opportunity to see lots of other interesting places in Northern Wales.
Thank You
Stephan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Surrounding landscape with lots of animals
Liked least: The narrow road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;