We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good choice in Llangollen”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moss Bank

Moss Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moss Bank
Bedroom 1 (double) Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Moss Bank
Bedroom 1 (double)
Kitchen
Patio overlooking the river
Moss Bank and the river Dee from the bridge in Llangollen
Llangollen bridge
View from Moss Bank
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aussiesen...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK for 1 or 2 nights. The climb up 2 flights of stairs hard with suitcases”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The owner was very pleasant. The flat was lovely and clean. The disappointment as far as I was concerned was that the only TV in the place was in the master bedroom, meaning we had to be in or on the bed to watch it. There was no where to sit comfortably - i.e. no arm chairs or sofa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the steam railway station and the river Dee
Liked least: Climbing 2 flights steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
We are disappointed that the reviewer was less than fully satisfied with their stay. We think it is clear from the property description, pictures and other reviews that there are 2 flights of stairs and there is no separate TV/lounge/sitting area. We do always offer to help guests with luggage on arrival and departure. Perhaps they did not check that the property was suitable for them before booking?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vizslam0m
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good choice in Llangollen”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property was very well described in the listing: this is a small second floor (that is, third floor to us North Americans) up two flights of steep stairs. Entry to the flat is through the owners' home, but this is not a problem as hallway doors are usually closed and the owners, when you do see them, are pleasant and helpful but not intrusive. The view, when you get way up there is splendid: the steam railway station immediately below, the river rapids, Llangollen and the hills beyond. The comfortable flat consists of two bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom with shower, all decorated in beautiful and somewhat whimsical taste. The beds (queen in one, single in the other room) were very comfortable. The small kitchen is well-equipped for minimalist cooking: there is a four-burner hob and a microwave, but no oven. This is not the place to produce a Sunday joint with the trimmings, but for breakfasts, packed lunches and heat-and-eat dinners, it is perfectly adequate.
The best thing about the flat is the location: it's a three minute walk down to the historic Llangollen Steam Railway, and about five from the horse-drawn canal barge trip which is up the hill. Both excursions are very enjoyable and well worth doing.
As a pleasant little pied-a-terre in a very pretty part of North Wales with plenty to do and see nearby, this bijou flat delivers!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianSel...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Found the house very easy to locate an get to, it was very close to the centre of town only a couple of minutes walk away. Was very quiet and peaceful at night, very comfortable inside, would definately come back and recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to all amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleflu...
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect little gem!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

In one word- AMAZING.

In more than one word...

We were so lucky to find this place- we changed a reservation to Moss Bank and we are so glad we did!

This apartment is situated practically on the steam railway and the river. We were there the weekend that Thomas the Tank Engine was visiting but that really didn't put us off. We woke up listening to the sound of the river and the steam trains if we slept in. It was fantastic. The views were just glorious.

The apartment

It's situated on the second floor (or for my partner, who is Canadian, the THIRD floor ;) ) You have to go through the owner's house to get to it but like it's said in previous reviews- once you go through the door leading to the apartment stairs, it's like your own place.

The bedrooms were great sizes, beds unbelievably comfortable. We had blankets, duvets, plenty of pillows provided, and little homely touches in each room- including a few books.

The TV is in the main bedroom. Sadly no sitting room but since it was just 2 of us, that was perfectly fine.

Wifi was provided, a little unstable at times but was good enough for us to chat to family and friends when needed.

Kitchen- perfect for a couple of people. No oven but there is a hob, microwave, toaster and kettle. There is a small fridge and all the utilities you need in there. Including some basic food stuffs (tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper)

Bathroom- a little small but easy to navigate round. Walk in shower, a few little bits like soap and shampoo that were provided and of course we were given a set of towels each.

We were greeted by Ian, who was very welcoming and friendly. They thought of everything and made our stay extremely enjoyable!

The apartment is less than 5 minutes from the restaurants and cafes on the main stretch. There are 3 shops to get some food (spar, stans (Nisa) and co-op) and various bakeries, butchers and green grocers for fresh stuff.

If you want a relaxing break, I recommend this place completely. I really really hope we can return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The sketchy (ish) wifi- but that's at a push- loved everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D247G
Beeston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, well-presented second-floor flat.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Brilliant place to stay in centre of Llangollen - if you're fine with stairs (two flights). Car parking in reserved space. Excellent view of the gushing river Dee from the bedroom window. Space comfortable; flat spotless; all facilities good. Really good value as a base for exploring.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing