We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What great service and food”

Market Street Fish Shop
Ranked #62 of 111 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My partner and i called here on our way through from Tywyn to Cornwall we had never been here before and were very impressed how quickly we were served it was great and the food was wonderful i had battered jumbo sausage and chips and my partner had fish and chips ,the food was so tasty ,hot and not at all greasy ,our portions were huge too ,great value for money and good friendly service .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahame c, Manager at Market Street Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Soggy chips and greasy tasteless fish but quite a big portion.
Expected more from a generally busy establishment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank al20986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahame c, Manager at Market Street Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your fish and chips and we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Just love this chip shop you get a choice of small or large fish and the large fish is huge. The food across the board here is top quality

Thank Paulphipps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I always have a takeaway and have never had an issue until the other week when I was given fish without the chips! (as you do). We don't live far so walked back to say no chips, the young girl that served me was adamant that I gave her the wrong order and insisted on arguing with me in front of everyone saying that it was my mistake, I told her I wasn't going to argue with her and the manager helpfully provided me with the chips free of charge. I would give the manager all the credit but they should definitely put that server on a customer service course.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miss_S-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahame c, Manager at Market Street Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your comments first i would like apologise that this incident occurred, the staff member should have just apologised and rectified her mistake, but this was not the case and i had to intervene. I have spoken to the girl involved and she is annoyed at her self for acting in the way she did with you. I can assure you that this will never be the case again and i will be doing a lot more with my team in regards to customer service.
Once again thank you for your comments and i hope we will see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The food is a good standard but the staff seem as though they are doing you a favour by taking your order?? They are quite rude. I have been here before and thought it was ok and left a good review but this is the last time now. We visited a few months ago too and were told they could not open the extra seating downstairs? but they were full upstairs? We went in this time seeing as downstairs was actually open but will not return as customer service is poor!

Thank milky4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Street Fish Shop also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Market Street Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing