We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing last minute lunch for a large group”

Red Castle Tea Room
Ranked #19 of 106 Restaurants in Abergavenny
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A beautiful, quaint, family run tea room set in the idyllic Monmouthshire countryside. Situated on the old Abergavenny-Skenfrith rd (B4521), Red Castle Tea Room is a perfect place to take a break and soak up that country atmosphere. Serving... All day breakfasts Daily Specials Light lunches to three course meals Sunday roasts Afternoon tea and plenty of temptation for a sweet tooth! Gluten and dairy allergies also catered for. Bookings taken for Sunday lunches Available for outside catering
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We were travelling home from a lovely weekend in the Brecon Beacons and needed to find somewhere for lunch. We came across the Red Castle Tea Room on trip advisor and rang to see if they could accommodate a group of 14. The staff were wonderful and very friendly. We sat outside and had a lovely lunch - ranging from roast lamb to whatever paninis you can imagine! And freshly baked scones for after. Lovely.

Also very grateful to them for posting my purse back after I left it there. Thanks again for a great time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you for your fabulous review, we're so glad that you all enjoyed yourselves! Best wishes, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Stopped off for a late brunch. As the cafe is set amidst outbuildings we were uncertain where to park, but assumed we would be readily sought if we needed to move the vehicle. Dog was allowed into the cafe as it wasn't busy. Chunky bacon sarny was great. Staff were chatty and loved the dog almost as much as I loved the sarny! Great cafe.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giotto1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your great review, we're glad you enjoyed your sarny! Best wishes, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We were getting hungry after about 60kms of the local hills, so we were delighted to find the Red Castle. Snug and welcoming, there was a wide selection of food to order, including the cyclist's favourite of beans on toast! The cake was too good to miss, so it was game on. Super service, amazing views, and cyclist friendly. Will put on the map for the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for such a fab review, we always love to see the cyclists! Look forward to seeing you again, best wishes, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Went here p l anned for a rainy day cream tea. Nice fakes and scones, fresh and tasty. Real cream as well, a treat. Nice little place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your scones! Best wishes, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

A group of 5 of us had Sunday lunch at the Red Castle Tea room. The service was attentive and friendly, but with a warm informality that we really enjoyed. We were offered Pork or Beef with all the usual trimmings and, for the Vegetarians in the group, Brie Crumble, Stuffed Peppers or Cauliflower Cheese. The size of the servings was more than ample. I particularly appreciated huge servings of several different fresh vegetables. The made-on-site desserts (Pavlova, Bread and Butter Pudding and Apple or Raspberry Crumble) were to die for.

All in all, a memorable meal in a memorable setting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review Carolyn! We look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes, Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Castle Tea Room also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Llanover, Abergavenny
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Red Castle Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing