We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Wales”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast The patio.....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast
The patio.....
...with that view!
the superbly equipped kitchen
the lovely oak dining table seats up to 12
Relax in comfort after a day in the hills amid the warmth of old oak beams and a roaring fire
the open and spacious living space
The West Bedroom - light, bright and ......
very cosy.
The East Bedroom - extra-wide single beds and, of course, the view!
more beautiful oak beams upstairs
A quiet corner for a read or a doze
The Bat Room - Sugar Loaf views and an ensuite wetroom
triplet lambs receiving extra tlc from the hens as well as their mum!
Feeling blue - bluebells carpet the woodlands above Porth-y-Parc
it's worth the pull up to the summit of Sugar Loaf....less than an hour's walk
summer sunset over Sugar Loaf
Autumn glory at Porth-y-Parc
Sugar Loaf looking very well sugared indeed!
Go Wild!  Nothing beats a cool river dip after a hot summer walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in Wales”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Old Barn in July 2014 and had the most wonderful holiday, we were devastated to leave!

The cottage itself is the perfect blend of contemporary and cozy -- it has some modern decor, but the stone walls, wood burning fireplace, wood beams and many decorative touches give it a rustic feel. The kitchen seems very new and is fully fitted to an excellent standard with everything you could need. We loved the collection of CDs, DVDs and games, perfect for a rainy day or night in! It was not only beautiful and comfortable, but the whole house is impeccably clean.

The Old Barn is tucked away from the road, so it is completely surrounded by country fields with a breathtaking view of Sugar Loaf (which, by the way, can be accessed by a hiking trail feet from the front doorstep). We were desperately seeking some peace and quiet, and we found it at the Old Barn. It is the most serene place I've been, no noise pollution whatsoever. Our favorite activity was just to sit at the table out back with a cup of coffee or bottle of wine and take in the views. We had planned a full itinerary of sights to see, but enjoyed the cottage so much we decided to spend a couple of days just lounging around.

Porth-y-Parc is well situated to explore the rest of Brecon Beacons. The Old Barn is only about 10 minutes drive to a waitrose and other shops, as well as about 15 minutes from a great country pub (the Crown at Pantygelli) and absolutely delicious restaurant by chef Gordon Ramsay (The Walnut Tree) which is not to be missed.

The hosts, Roz and Pip, are incredibly warm, welcoming and helpful. Right from the start, Roz was quick to answer my emails with any questions we had. They left delicious eggs from their hens (who popped by for a visit), cake, milk, fresh flowers, and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. They are very kind and the perfect hosts!

All in all, we are both eagerly awaiting our next stay at the Old Barn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterhoun...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful barn, great setting with everything you could want”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

5 of stayed here for a long weekend in lateish March. We arrived very late on a dark wet night - it was delightful to arrive in such a warm, cosy & well-equipped place - the underfloor heating is wonderful. It's stylishly furnished & decorated with good quality equipment, crockery and decent glasses for wine - a lovely change from the more usual style of holiday cottage. There were eggs, milk, cake, wine & flowers to welcome us, and Roz & Pip had very kindly ensured that we had a secure area - the courtyard, into which we could let our 2 dogs without worrying they might escape!
Unlike many places we have stayed in the past, there was nothing wanting here - no rushing out to buy vital supplies that should have been there but weren't, no hunting around for standard items.
The situation is fabulous - a wonderful walk up to Sugarloaf, even though we were caught in a hailstorm at the top it was still brilliant!
We ate at The Walnut Tree which was just sublime - one of the best meals we've ever had.
We're looking forward to returning both to the barn & the restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The style, the warmth, the welcome.
Liked least: Slightly inconvenient to have to pop outside to access the bat room, but a very minor inconvenience.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardenjoy...
Ringmer
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning Location in a really well appointed Barn”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at The Old Barn with our daughter, son in law and Granddaughter and found the barn great. We stayed in The Bat Room which is a separate bedroom and bathroom and just right to give everybody a bit of privacy and peace and quiet. The Barn has a great blend of contemporary décor and authentic old features and is very warm and comfortable.
Best of all Roz allowed our Granddaughter to bottle feed the baby lambs so she was in seventh heaven!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixtonbe...
brixtonbelle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So beautiful, so cosy, so gourmet.....”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We returned to Porth-y-Parc for a second visit, a year after our first (Nov 2012 and Nov 2013).
This time we knew what to expect - unmatchable views, glorious walking, designer cottage, warm and cosy lounge, perfectly equipped kitchen and wonderful home-reared lamb for roasting!
This time we held court and invited several different sets of west country friends to come visit us for dinner and walking. So we got through quiet a bit of lamb!
All friends have vowed to return and so we may be making our own life harder by increasing the demand for the cottage.
We will be back in May for a view of sugar loaf in the spring and for the Heineken Cup.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views, sugar loaf on the door step, beautiful & careful design. The legs & shoulders of lamb!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing