We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
216
83
32
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
83
32
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live music lovely old building four poster bed wonky floors the pub excellent food saturday night function room until midnight ate here a real gem old coaching inn beef food festival great atmosphere welsh breakfast room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This 16th century inn is a delight. The hotel is very popular. We stayed from Friday to Monday over a VERY hot weekend. The staff at the hotel did everything to make our stay enjoyable, including putting a fan in our room for our comfort. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection. During our three night stay there was a cycle race which started and finished in front of the hotel, a wedding reception on Saturday and live music in the bar on Sunday. It was also the place where everyone seemed to meet and we could see why. Wonderful!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Roadrunnerchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Just looking for a place for a pint and was recommended this. Not disappointed. Good beers inc cask, friendly team and good vibe. Dog friendly - think so but better check. Great time sitting out on the street with what seemed like the rest of the population on a sunny friday evening. Oh Yes.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Augeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights. Excellent service from start to finish. This is an old coaching Inn so the whole place has a lovely querky feel about it. We ate in the restaurant, and our meals were superb. Rooms spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and professional. We will definitely be back. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JanJanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

My family and I live in Abergavenny and have used this pub on several occasions.However I wanted to relax with a small beer before collecting my daughter and felt the king's arms to be the place to do this .however on approaching the bar I was ignored by the barman whilst he was messing around with another customer.there was acknowledgement of me waiting to be served and I became very anxious and decided to leave after speaking of my deep disappointment to the manager. I would certainly hesitate in suggesting to my friends and family on their again.i certainly wouldn't return

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank ptjmercer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Family dinner. Good choice of traditional cuisine presented with a modern twist. Excellent and friendly service Good choice of beveridge again served in a cosy traditional pleasant atmosphere Hotel centrally located with easy access to the town, limited rooms available, good parking spaces across the road.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank kenthecelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews