We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage, extremely welcoming owners, a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Doleos in May evening sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door
Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Have the beds linked for Super-king
OR twin bedded bedroom overlooking garden and meadow
Very well equipped kitchen including fridge, dish-washer, microwave and clothes wash/dry machine
Dine out on Doleos patio and admire the views
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and you can also see the distant Cambrian Mountains
Really comfy sofa-bed in the lounge if needed and pre-booked
Plenty of books and brochures
Private parking directly by Derwen Cottage
View the glorious surrounding countryside from the meadow
distant views of open countryside from the meadow
garden path feature at Derwen Cottage
Patio and garden feature at Derwen cottage in 2012
Ynyslas beach and estuary near Borth, North of Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth beach and prom - lovely long walk to 'kick the bar' - a local tradition
Glorious Cwm Rheidol where the Butterfly house is located
Summer visitors
Spring flowers in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Susan S
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage, extremely welcoming owners, a treat to return to.”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have visited this accommodation many times and have booked again for July. Marilyn and Ifor make us so welcome and the cottage is well equipped, light, airy and very comfortable. The surrounding area is beautiful yet close to Aberystwyth and other amenities.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome, the beautiful views, spotless well appointed accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thank you Susan, it's always a pleasure to have you staying at our cottage as you are so friendly and so respectful of our property. It's always left beautifully clean and tidy which is immensely appreciated, especially at busy times. Hopefully you will continue to visit even though your son will be graduating this summer! If not we will miss you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanegran...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cottage; welcoming reception; beautiful location”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Set in the burgeoning hills of the Cardigan coast, just a short drive from the friendly town of Aberystwyth, Doleos Cottage is ideal for a tranquil spell away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Each doorway and window provides views to die for and the interior of the cottage was just as serene.
Highly recommended and excellent value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful tranquil setting
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review my cottage. I am delighted you liked it so much and thrilled that you fell for it's charms. It is so satisfying to share this glorious place especially with lovely visitors who appreciate it and who take such good care of the cottage during their stay. Tourism is so important for this area which is why I will always endeavour to ensure visitors are happy here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattRWELS...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location, very comfortable and genuinely welcoming.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked with Marilyn for an extended Easter break with our two boys (and dog) and had a brilliant time. Far enough from Aberystwyth to enjoy total tranquility, but close enough to benefit from all the amenities of the town, we filled 4 busy days with activities (walks, vintage train rides, beaches, castles/monasteries etc) but always enjoyed watching the sun setting at the cottage with a glass of wine on the patio. The cottage itself is extremely comfortable, immaculately clean, and with a fab kitchen for 'foodies'. Only sad moment was the boys crying when we had to leave!

We would wholeheartedly recommend for a family trip - we will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
THANK YOU so much for your lovely review and for being the perfect visitors - the perfect little family! So sad to see your boys upset to leave but it delighted me to know they enjoyed their holiday so much. I will gladly welcome you all back and look forward to seeing you all again and hopefully share another stroll up the meadow for the sea-view. THANK YOU.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hart81
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect... a very welcoming and relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A wonderful weekend break in this perfect little cottage. We were very much welcomed by our host.. the lovely marilyn who instantly put the kettle on upon our arrival and treated us to biscuits (There's a welcome!) The cottage was simply wonderful and so peaceful. We were really able to relax in such comfortable and beautiful surroundings. The cottage had all we needed and more and was very well looked after. Despite the weather being a little up and down we couldn't have asked for anything better. We thank you very much for allowing us to spend time in your adorable cottage and hopefully we will get to visit again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Oh! THANK YOU so much, I can't believe how kind people can be. I am overcome with gratitude for such consideration and appreciation. Though feeling that the miserable winter weather is dragging on, having this review has certainly given me a real boost. I'm now excitedly looking forward to the busy season when hopefully I'll get to meet more lovely, lovely visitors such as you. THANK YOU sincerely for making my day a smiling one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emtejake
1 review
“just perfect”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

recieved a lovely warm welcome on arrival from marilyn,and the cottage was perfect in every way,spotless, comfortable, and so relaxing, we loved it and will be back! perfect little getaway! thank you so much,miss it already!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
A massive thank you for such encouraging comments. It makes the world of difference to what, at times, can be very hard work. To have you, the perfect visitors, enjoy your stay so much is so very rewarding. I just want everyone to enjoy staying at my cottage so much. It is such a tranquil, naturally beautiful place, a perfect recipe for de-stressing. A short walk to the meadow gate for the sea-view certainly de-stresses me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing