We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful holiday cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Doleos in May evening sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door
Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Have the beds linked for Super-king
OR twin bedded bedroom overlooking garden and meadow
Very well equipped kitchen including fridge, dish-washer, microwave and clothes wash/dry machine
Dine out on Doleos patio and admire the views
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and you can also see the distant Cambrian Mountains
Really comfy sofa-bed in the lounge if needed and pre-booked
Plenty of books and brochures
Private parking directly by Derwen Cottage
View the glorious surrounding countryside from the meadow
distant views of open countryside from the meadow
garden path feature at Derwen Cottage
Patio and garden feature at Derwen cottage in 2012
Ynyslas beach and estuary near Borth, North of Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth beach and prom - lovely long walk to 'kick the bar' - a local tradition
Glorious Cwm Rheidol where the Butterfly house is located
Summer visitors
Spring flowers in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nia W
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful holiday cottage!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

What a find! A lovely and well equipped clean cottage, a short drive away to the lovely coastal town of Aberystwyth. We had such a warm welcome and were delighted with our welcome pack of goodies which the owner had carefully chosen, bearing in mind we had 3 little ones with us. We will definitely return...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted a lovely little family enjoyed staying at my cottage. If only the weather had been better!
There's still work to do on the landscaping but your kind remarks are so encouraging and inspiring. THANK YOU.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
March, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Ever”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Excellent new property, clean, spacious and well equipped. The owner was incredibly helpful and provided extras such as bread, milk, coffee, tea, fruit, vegetables, orange juice and breakfast cereals all waiting when we arrived.

Directions to property were clear and correct. The surroundings were beautiful and quiet and we had a most restful and enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it.

A car is needed as it just outside of Aberystwyth but only a five minute drive into town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation with great views of buzzards and occasional red kite
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
THANK YOU so much for making my day! Feeling exhausted after an extremely busy summer of letting I was delighted to read such lovely, considerate and generous comments. I never thought when I started letting the immense pleasure I would get from meeting such nice people. Sharing this glorious place with them was so satisfying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie765...
1 review
“Fabulous cottage. Pictures do not do it justice.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very lovely cottage just five minutes drive from the centre of Aberystwyth, yet in an extremely peaceful and private location. The cottage is extremely well equipped, and is decorated very nicely; the photographs do not do it justice. The only thing missing was a full length mirror (which is just me being fussy).
Nearby attractions include the National Park which has three excellent mountain bike trails and offers some lovely walks, and the rare red kites are fed at 3pm daily, which is an interesting sight. The centre of Aberystwyth is only 5 minutes away, with its lovely beach, also the Rheidol valley, steam train, butterfly house.. The list goes on.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
THANK YOU so much for your kind review. I have been meaning to get a mirror and now you've prompted me I will get one this week. It was a pleasure meeting you both and thank you for taking such interest in the planned developments here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7862013
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Warm welcome
Very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Excellent spacious garden and patio area. Perfect location all shops and coast near by 5mins drive, would recommend to friends family excellent for break.
Would visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious living room
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
THANK YOU so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay at my cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely property, very clean & spacious. warm welsh welcome”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Car needed as a 5 minute journey to the coast, shops nearby.
Quiet and relaxing, the dog loved walking in the meadow. Lovely wildlife & the stream was very relaxing. Sunny aspect because garden furniture can be move
around the patio area. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyone at the property were so lovely, providing a most welcome hamper
Liked least: you could have such a beautiful garden, abit overgrown
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing