We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A storybook vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of TOP COTTAGE

Great location in Broadway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great location in Broadway
Location, location, location Spring time at Top Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Great location in Broadway
Location, location, location
Spring time at Top Cottage
Top Cottage - unrivalled location in a quiet mews
Welcome to Top Cottage
Sunny & secluded garden to rear of cottage
Summertime  at Top Cottage
Oak beamed Living Room with wood burner
Living Room with stylish furnishings & windows to front & rear
Fitted oak kitchen with Iroko worktops, dishwasher & washing machine
1st floor double bedroom with feature wallpapered wall, beams, dual aspect
Ensuite off 1st floor bedroom (with shower)
Attic bedroom with feature wallpapered wall, beams, dual aspect
Family bathroom with over bath shower & travertine tiling
Secluded position with great views
View from bedroom window
Peaceful Bell Yard
Broadway's stunning High Street
Museums & many scenic walks
Walk to Broadway Tower
Broadway's beautiful High Street
High quality shopping
Art galleries
Foodie's paradise
Wander along the beautiful High Street
A choice of quality restaurants
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Broadway, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anika L
New City, New York
2 reviews
“A storybook vacation”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband, 1-year-old son and I stayed at Top Cottage for a week, and it was everything we could've hoped. Just adorable, quaint, cozy, clean, and both old-fashioned in the ways you'd want but modern in the ways you'd like (bathrooms, all the amenities you need). The view from the second floor is stunning, and the back garden is a lovely place to be. We would've spent far more time out there in the mornings if our little boy wasn't determined to put every little stone in his mouth.

The location is fantastic. Literally steps from the main street in Broadway, which is a storybook town. And Broadway is in the middle of storybook town after storybook town. It's hard to believe the people there are living real life. We loved having Top Cottage as our home base as we drove through the gorgeous rolling countryside and explored the towns, and places like Stratford-Upon-Avon and Oxford. We also just loved walking High Street in Broadway, going to the coolest playground we'd ever seen at the top of High Street, and hiking through fields of sheep up to Broadway Tower.

I am so glad my mother told me the Cotswolds were my grandparents' favorite place in the world, or else I might never have known to visit this picturesque part of the world.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Your review paints such a lovely picture of a much-enjoyed holiday. We're so pleased that you were so happy with Top Cottage and appreciated it's fantastic location a no the blend of 18th Century character with 21st Century fixtures & fittings. Many thanks for you lovely review which I'm sure will help future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette H
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A magical setting for Top Cottage, hidden behind the high street in beautiful Broadway. This quiet quaint cottage is well equipped, compact and cosy downstairs with a stony courtyard garden and spacious two double bedrooms upstairs.

Great walks from right outside the front door made for very happy but tired dogs.

We found the downstairs a bit small for a week of self catering, especially the kitchen. No freezer compartment in the fridge so don't buy ice cubes for your G&T!

There is a Budgens small supermarket for all essentials and the amazingly stocked Broadway Delicatessen for everything else, both within a couple of minutes walk.

Broadway has a good selection of places to eat out. We visited Russels - pricey but worth a visit for a special occasion, The Swan - great tasting better than pub food, Broadway Deli - beautiful breakfast in the courtyard garden (only place open for early risers from 8am), Food of India - average Indian restaurant, not spicy enough for us and Russels Fish & Chips - fantastic fish with outdoor seating for the hounds.

A good holiday in a cosy cottage and we were very lucky with a sunny week in beautiful Broadway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
We're so pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay in our gorgeous cottage. We hope to welcome you back in the future -plenty more walks to discover!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamar B
New York City, New York
1 review
“Lovely and perfectly situated”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband, teen son and I stayed at the cottage for three nights and were delighted with the experience. The cottage is cozy and well appointed; the furnishings and decor have a lot of genuine charm and personality without that froufrou stuffiness you sometimes find in faux English B&Bs in the States. We found the beds very comfortable, and the shower in the small en suite bathroom was easy to use and the water was nice and hot, with good pressure. The other bathroom is charming and has a bathtub. The living room is on the small side, but the three of us didn't find this problematic, as it was a pleasant space to relax in the evenings. And in dry weather, you can sit out back in a sweet-looking yard.

The cottage is in a mews just off High Street, and the front walkway is festooned with flowers. With the foliage against the stonework, it feels like you're stepping into a movie.

The place is blissfully quiet, yet it's perfectly located for a stroll through the charming town of Broadway, with its shops and restaurants, and even a couple of museums--as well as an excellent tea room (with gluten free scones!), and it's an easy walk to the beautiful trail through sheep pastures leading to Broadway Tower. (We'd heard that the town is crowded with tourists, but it seemed fine, and they go away before nightfall, leaving it quiet and peaceful.)

If our journeys take us back through the Cotswolds, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Sharon was very responsive and easy to communicate with, and all the logistics were smooth and easy. A pleasure all around.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying in our lovely cottage & I know it helps future guests. You are always welcome back if you ever find yourself in the Cotswolds in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzyG196...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The booking procedure was straightforward and the pre-holiday information was detailed and very helpful. The cottage itself is in a lovely quiet spot yet within 1 minutes walking distance of the shops and restaurants. You really couldn't ask for a better location! The cottage is well equipped with everything you need for your holiday. My daughters loved the cosy attic bedroom. The rear garden is enclosed and so was perfect for our dog. I would definitely return to Top Cottage if we visited the Cotswolds again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
I'm so pleased to hear that you and your family clearly loved Top Cottage and its wonderful location as much as our other guests have. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Top Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moya246
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommend this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Having visited Broadway at christmas time for the past few years, we were familiar with the area but wanted something more than a bed and breakfast to stay in as our grandson was visiting with us this year. Top Cottage was everything we hoped for and more!

The location of the cottage is perfect, just off the high street, allowing easy access to shops and restaurants, whilst still being quiet and secluded. The cottage offered a comfortable base for our trip and the log burner in the living area gave a really cosy feel. The whole cottage was immaculately presented and we felt at home immediately.

We will definitely be booking up for Christmas shopping again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
We look forward to welcoming you and your family for next year's Christmas shopping and hopefully for some years to come! Broadway is beautiful at any time of the year, but particularly at Christmas. We love Top Cottage and it makes us very happy when our guests clearly feel the same way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing