We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy, cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

sitting room - contemporary comfort/ original features
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sitting room - contemporary comfort/ original features
sitting room - contemporary comfort/ original features kithen and dining, great space, who needs to eat out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
sitting room - contemporary comfort/ original features
sitting room - contemporary comfort/ original features
kithen and dining, great space, who needs to eat out
bedroom 1 under the thatch roof - real cosy
cottage rear garden,secure, safe and sunny
bedroom2 under the thatch - real cosy too
traditional detail
dining in tonight!
you will find a bottle especially for you in the cooler
not imitation, this is 200 years old with 2010 luxury
snuggle up by the fire, logs to get you started provided
anyone for tea!
anyone for tea in the garden!
egyption cotton linen by' The White Co'
contempary bathroom style
fireside
cottage from the street
sunny cottage garden from the patio
cottage from the back garden
it's spring in the garden
time to cook and relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadway, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
accord90
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Broadway thatched cottage”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Enjoyed our stay,few minor issues,but overcome most straight away.I think the cottage could be made better if secondary glassing was fitted as the windows was draughty.This can be expected with the age of the property.It was well fitted out and the cottage was well equipped.We will more than likely use again if in Broadway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curabat
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage...not quite perfect”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is in a good location but I would say 15 mins to town. We stayed 4 adults in July luckily weather was amazing. The downstairs is amazing...stunning kitchen and bathroom...very cosy and kitchen well equipped. However, it's an induction hob which isnt easy to use if you havent used one before. There is one badly damaged frying pan which has been scratched from i guess other people who also couldn't get in with it! Upstairs is very nice but 2nd bedroom is ok to sleep in for 2 adults but no room in it at all for 2 adults unless on the bed. No wardrobe or storage but a hanging Rail. Bedding beautiful quality and comfy beds. Stairs very steep and my elderly parents struggled but that's our fault! The garden was a tad overgrown and the patio is badly broken with chunks of stone..quite dangerous. On the list to do i am sure. The owners although we didn't meet are very good communicators and left a beautiful cake and prosecco...a lovely touch. Could do with some a/c fans...bedrooms and downstairs very hot at night. Couple of bits of dust and cobwebs and some paintwork needs some touch ups but on the whole a lovely place..very clean. Neighbours are on an ex council estate so few barking dogs and tipsy people walking by late at night but overall it's quite quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you Tracy for appreciating our hard work in making your stay possible - we had a lot of communication and a lot of questions to deal with didn't we!
We're pleased you had a great time after all , Spencer's housekeeping is meticulous , we will check the scratched frying pan and pop a new one in so thank you for highlighting that for us ... as to the garden the gardener called last week and tidied it all up and the patio ( its a 17th century cottage with 17th century paving in parts) has already been re-pointed completely , was work in progress as of course we have to fit maintenance around client stays ..
we are bit concerned with your comment about being 15 mins from town !!- we are a 2 minute walk into the High Street of Broadway and couldn't be much more central - I think you must mean the nearest large town , Evesham ??
Our neighbours are a mix variously of high nett worth owners of similarly listed buildings and owners of more modest ex social housing properties nearby - I think both are equally proud of their surroundings and both often dog owners and all enjoy a walk to the pub so guess that's normal eh !
either way it is as you say very quiet generally, thanks for staying and we look forward to having you stay once more,
Kind Thanks, Keith and Teresa....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas w
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downstairs toilet only”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice cottage in good location but the bathroom was located down a narrow twisting staircase. The lights to the staircase did not work so a visit during the night became a precarious experience. Well fitted kitchen and comfortable small lounge provided all our needs although generally the cottage needs a deep clean. Due to a gap in the rear lounge window we were visited by ants on a daily basis as the weather was very hot and dry.

Generally we had a good stay despite one of the days was being the hottest for 40 years a fan would have been a welcome addition.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Hi Thomas,
thank you for your review . we are sorry you didn't appear to have the experience of all our other guests , maybe the exceptionally hot weather had some impact on your stay - certainly , in a listed property of this age with a thatch it is no surprise under the circumstances that ants found a way in - its a pity you didn't contact us during your stay as we could very easily have remedied this along with the light bulb ( which we found after your departure and of course replaced) and probably have found you a fan to help with the exceptional heat also!

the layout is common with many period small cottages with the bathroom situated at the foot of the short staircase to the 1st floor bedrooms. the staircase is original and winds around a newel post with hand rail to the wall site to make things comfortable but is in any case not very many steps .

We make an effort to always present the cottage fastidiously and are a little bemused by the deep cleaning comments however, we will take note thank you and strive to improve wherever we can if possible,

Kind thank for your feedback, Keith and Teresa...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birvin388...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal Broadway location with great amenities!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A friend and I stayed at Orchard Cottage for 3 nights at the beginning of a 12 day trip from PA to England and France. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay or more helpful, supportive hosts- many thanks to Keith and Teresa, who were great at answering my many questions both before and during our stay! The cottage has a spacious first floor with a large livingroom and well equipped and updated kitchen/bath. There is a lovely back yard complete with table/chairs that we really enjoyed (with wine and snacks) on our last evening there! The bedrooms are upstairs- accessed via a short spiral staircase. The cottage is a 3 minute walk to High Street, which has a wide array of shops/restaurants. Broadway was a great choice for us- one of many beautiful villages in this part of the Cotswolds! Hospitable, welcoming people everywhere we went! We enjoyed Broadway Deli for tasty carry out foods (you can eat in too), and dinner at the Horse & Hounds bar. Took a fantastic full day private village tour, which I'd highly recommend- found one at a decent price and saw multiple other villages, churches, scenic views, etc. with a guide who was a retired local teacher/Cotswolds resident. Great option for first time visitors w/o a car!

Can't say enough good things about the Cotswolds, and especially Orchard Cottage- book it if you can!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind words,, we are both delighted you had a great stay , thank you once again,
Keith and Teresa...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing