We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 191)
Filter reviews
3 191 results
Traveller rating
2 163
733
206
65
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 163
733
206
65
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking cupcakes opposite the castle lovely hotel car park high street perfect location cooked breakfast mini bar weekend break executive room would highly recommend this hotel excellent stay lovely room breakfast was excellent stayed for one night full english
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3 191 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from our stay in Windsor and we very much enjoyed the Macdonald hotel. The decor was very nice throughout the hotel, staff friendly/helpful and restaurant/bar also very good. It was our anniversary and we received some cupcakes and champagne free of charge which was a nice treat!
The concierge was good he looked after our car when we arrived at the hotel and returned it to us with cases already loaded in the boot for our journey home.
Only a couple minor issues that were a little annoying. Firstly at night the neighbouring hotel kept chucking their empty glass bottles in the bin every half hour or less which was noisy and went on all night! Secondly our breakfasts were just warm and should’ve been hotter.
Overall we enjoyed our stay though and would return one day

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank adamf685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are all often quick to criticise, and don’t take time to praise a hotel or restaurant when things go well. I was therefore delighted to read your review and hear that we managed to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights, the location is perfect for sightseeing in & around Windsor, it is across the street from the Castle & only a 5 minute walk to the train station.
Check in was a bit underwhelming to say the least, we weren’t given a welcome or any information about the property or area at the front desk.
But once we got to our room we were happy that is was as pictured on their website.
The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and the bed extremely comfortable.
It could do with a bit more storage especially for guests staying for more than a few days.
Our room 101 had problems with WiFi, so if you need your phone working 24/7 don’t stay in this room, we were offered a chance to change rooms (thank you Stuart) but we loved our room so we decided to stay put!
The housekeeping staff are amazing our room was kept impeccable everyday, and the turndown service is a nice touch, especially the little treats left on our pillows each night!
5 stars go to Stuart on concierge, valet, bell & where-ever else he is needed thank you for looking after us & to Kitti in the bar who is a shining star, she was so friendly and engaging, we looked forward to chatting to her each evening.... they are both a credit to the hotel!
We will definitely be back next time we visit the UK.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sandyb662017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Receiving positive feedback gives the team a boost and helps us maintain our high standards. We very much look forward to seeing you back in Windsor soon. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is right in the centre of Windsor and is practically opposite the world famous Windsor castle. This is a warm well maintained and classy hotel. The hotel has valet parking underground and is reasonably priced.

Room was big and comfortable
Bed was brilliant
Shower powerful and roomy
Breakfast was fresh and tasty and the bar was great for cocktails

Room 4/5
Shower 5/5
Location 5/5
Parking 4/5
Breakfast 3.5/5

Would we stay here again???? YES!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WraggUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

It was such a pleasure to read your review this morning, and we are all pleased to hear you had a great stay. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Having stayed at this hotel previously and received wonderful service I did expect high standards however this was soon dispelled on arrival.

Had booked car parking - took about ten minutes for someone to arrive to park car.
Check in- miserable staff just handed room key with no instructions, offer of paper, breakfast times etc.

Room - only one bathrobe provided , which was covered in blood. Asked for it to be changed once and a second one to be provided and they brought another robe to the room when we were out but did not remove the bloodstained one. Had to make a further call. Was certainly not a pleasant sight in the bathroom and was hardly a small stain or hidden.

Breakfast first morning - horrendous! Arrived at 9.50am (served till 10.30am), all empty bowls of hot & cold food on buffet, when guests asked when they'd be topped up the reply was 'we've had 160 people through this morning, you'll have to wait!'. Lots of dirty tables uncleared, and staff were clueless. Went to get juice and the restaurant manager sat two other people at our table - no apology or sense of service. Asked for milk with the tea and they just lifted the used jug from another table and plonked down. Poor choice of foods due to nothing being refilled promptly.

On Saturday afternoon we decided to have afternoon tea, we sat by the fire and were told by the barman the table was free. Table was set for us, and we were enjoying a drink there when told we had to move as they'd double booked the table and someone else wanted it. No idea why it was us who had to move and the attitude of the staff was poor although they did provide afternoon tea then on the house. No top ups of tea/coffee provided and bar table then moved to was cold as in draught of doorway - not the cosy fireside tea we'd booked.

Sunday breakfast - queue for 15 mins to be seated, no apology or urgency from staff. Told to put napkin on chair when getting food 'or the table could get nicked', butter requested from waiter and provided from another used table not the kitchen, tried to give us tea from another table too so demanded fresh. Restaurant manager wandering around clueless, tables uncleared, no order, no apology for queuing or lack of food.

Checkout - in queue for desk to be told 'come over here buddy' to the Concierge desk, paid the bill but couldn't view it first as 'the printer doesn't work' so had to trust what was being read out. No receipt provided either. Repeatedly called 'buddy' during the transaction which I hardly feel is professional or courteous.

Was such a shame as I remember this a great hotel with fab service and this was why I returned, which I very much regretted as such a poor stay with awful service all round.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citybreaker2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are in a very competitive market in Windsor and we must work hard to be the best. Your experience shows we have some way to go to deliver what we promise. I’m sorry we let you down on your recent visit, and hope that these isolated issues don’t prevent you from returning. Yours sincerely, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms are modern and clean which should make for a great stay. The hotel is let down by is customer service, and and value for money on bar prices.
Breakfast is good with a good choice of dishes, there is even a special section of gluten free food complete separate to ensure no confusion. The service on the other hand is shambolic you have to be booked in when you arrive an order for your drink was taken this never arrived we then asked another waitress for the order and eventually it arrived. On our second breakfast we were constantly told we were not booked and this was causing an issue not sure why this was deemed to be our problem as we were booked in for two nights b+b and it was all paid for. Again drinks had to be ordered repeatedly before they arrive. We ordered porridge for one member of the group which had to be ordered twice. There service staff were working very hard but did not seem to be designated to tables which must have made it difficult to remember who ordered what.
One evening we ordered two cups of Green tea, this cost £9.10 it was just twinning tea nothing special. You expect to pay more when you are in a hotel but this seemed poor value for money to me we could have bought 2 boxes of teabags for that. I would have marked it higher if the service had been better, as a customer I am not used to being told off for their error.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kathrynowl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Many thanks for your recent review. Positive feedback helps us to remain consistent and focus on the areas where we can do better. I was delighted that we got most things right, but I am conscious that there is some room for improvement. Rest assured I will work hard to rectify these areas. Hopefully see you again soon. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews