We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$182
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alabare House(Salisbury)
US$105
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Avonlea House(Salisbury)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 120)
Filter reviews
1 120 results
Traveller rating
347
408
209
90
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
408
209
90
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe vinebeautiful courtyardcar parkafternoon tealovely old hotelold coaching innpay and displayhistoric hotellounge areasuperior roomsconeslots of characterfour poster bedold buildingcentre of towncentral locationbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1 120 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We've just returned from spending a short break at this 13th Century Inn in the heart of Salisbury. Great location, and for a very reasonable price.
We stayed in one of the superior double rooms, and the room was a good size, comfortable bed, clean and quiet. As has been mentioned it can be hard to find your way around, but that's to be expected from an inn that has been around for a very long time, and I think it's part of the charm.
Staff were friendly and helpful, and the addition of leaving Easter Eggs outside all the rooms on Easter Sunday was a lovely touch.
No real parking on site like many hotels in the area, but as it was a weekend with bank holiday, the nearby multi-storey car park was free to use which was very handy.
All in all, a perfectly positioned hotel at a very reasonable price, so would happily visit again

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank berni4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

14 family members on the annual get together and thus year we chose the Red Lion in Salisbury as the location was equidistant for everyone travelling. We had booked in November for our March visit but when trying to book a table in the restaurant on the Friday we found that there was nothing available as a 'function' had been booked. The same problem occurred the following night and so we had to find a restaurant to accommodate our party. A lounge and bar could have had an area set aside for 'residents' to eat equally we could have been apprised of the problem prior to our arrival thereby enabling us to pre book and not had the stress of finding a restaurant last minute.
(The receptionist did help us but this was obviously on her initiative.)
The hotel is ideal for a visit to Salisbury as it's location is excellent. The staff could be better deployed as the bar was often left unattended and required a wait before being served. So better management will make this a good visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank tuffty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Stayed in the Seamstress Suite for two nights and wow, it is simply stunning. Not just the room--the service and smiles from the staff who served us afternoon tea and dinner made us feel so welcome and special.
The room--well, having stayed here twice now we haven't been let down. The first time we stayed in what we would call a Junior Suite and this was beautifully refurbished and such a lovely room. This time we got the relatively newly created Seamtress Suite and wow. This isn't the quality of a 3 star hotel...this is the quality of a 5 star hotel. They say a picture speaks a thousand words but trust me, the reality speaks even more. In a City with so much history (of the old variety rather than current history in the making!) this hotel blends the old with the new very well, especially this suite! You feel very special from the moment you walk in with its luxury soft furnishings and oh so comfortable bed. This suite is up in the eaves overlooking the stunning courtyard and it was so relaxing hearing the rain falling on the roof above us.
We had afternoon in the Victoria lounge and this was simply quaint, and just what was needed mid-afternoon. Scones that were so warm and fluffy and cakes that were so yummy, all in the surroundings of an open fire and comfortable furniture.
For dinner we chose to eat again in the Victoria Lounge rather than the main restaurant as we were so chilled and wanted something a little less formal and again it was great food. Hot, plentiful and accompanied by superb service. The duty manager is an absolute credit to the hotel.
The only minor point for improvement for us would be the main restaurant itself. Is in one of the oldest parts of the hotel but they could blend some of the contemporary feel of the Victoria Lounge into here--felt a bit too much like an old people's waiting room.
We stay in a lot of hotels and don't often try to go back to the same place but will definitely be keen to stay here again.
Thank you Red Lion team!

Room Tip: Seamstress Suite
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauliepaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A wonderful location in the very centre of Salisbury settled in a old and typical Tudor style construction. Just a little bit complicated to reach the room (kind of a labyrinth...). Nice and comfortable room

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LorenzoColoivini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear LorenzoColovini,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with friends on Saturday 24th March. I was allocated room 42 which was large and clean but in much need of a refurb. The room over looked the main road which I thought nothing of at the time.
We had a lovely day exploring the city before heading out for dinner later in the evening. We returned to the hotel at 23:30 and that was when the problems started.
Across the road is the Cathedral Hotel and Bar which was very loud and open until 2am. When that kicked out, people hung around eating kebabs and talking on the street below our bedroom. The last time I looked at the clock it was 03:50 and I believe I finally managed to fall asleep.
The hotel itself is cute and quirky. The staff were friendly and breakfast was good. I just wish that I had been pre warned about the potential noise. The cathedral hotel website mentions the bar and noise so why does the red lion not do the same? Then customers can make an informed decision on whether or not to stay. I paid £120 to not sleep which I really don’t think is good enough. It might be okay during the week but really quite a bad experience for a Saturday night.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank RachBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear RachBrew,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the Cathedral Hotel's noise caused a disturbance to your stay with us. I have added internal secondary glazing to our bedrooms to reduce any disturbance caused by external factors and I am sorry this did not allow you a relaxing stay with us.

Sincerely,

William Weis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews