We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flavours and friendly”
Review of Tharavadu

Tharavadu
Ranked #33 of 2 230 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tharavadu, Home of Kerala cuisine, is the first authentic Kerala Restaurant in Yorkshire. In a blink of time Tharavadu has become the local favorite with their exceptional food and outstanding service. Winner of 'The Best Indian Restaurant by Oliver awards in 2015,2016 and 2017. Tharavadu is the only Indian Restaurant in Leeds, which is recommended in Michelin guide 2016, 2017 & 2018. Tharavadu is rated as one of the Top 10 curry houses in UK by Tripadvisor. Recommended in Harden's Restaurant Guide 2015,2016 and 2017 and 2018. Featured in The Good Food Guide UK by Waitrose in 2017 and 2018. Voted the Best Indian Restaurant in North England by Good Food Awards. Welcome you to an unusual cuisine where excellence maintains tradition.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic menu, spoilt for choice. Our group of 3 all had different starters and mains, every dish was of the highest quality. Staff were great and despite it being a busy Saturday evening the service was good.

Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1 926 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely amazing !! What a fantastic little restaurant.

I went with friends for a meal to Tharavadu as we had hear good reports. I wasn’t let down.

The staff are very friendly, efficient and can’t do enough for customers.

We had popadoms to start with.

There is a wide range of starters. I then shared a Padipura Mix Seafood starter (squid, prawns, fish & mussels) which was beautiful.

For my main course I had Kerala Kozhi Curry with lemon rice. This was wonderful.

Be warned, this restaurant is very popular, so it is worth booking a table in advance.

I will be returning to this restaurant and would recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScouseChris2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great menu with lots of choice. Range of drinks is good.

Service staff helpful, courteous and knowledgeable.

Thank RobskiStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This isn’t your typical generic Indian menu. It’s specifically Kerala and is authentic. There’s a large range of dishes and the staff are clued up as to what goes with what (even though one of the waitresses was a little rude, laughing at what she no doubt thought was my ignorance). The food is really delicious and filling. It stands out among all the many Indian restaurants with its fragrant spices and coconutty flavours. For its superiority, it’s not even particularly more expensive. Would go back happily.

Thank TywinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent restaurant. The food felt like what I can imagine is pretty authentic Indian; the curry was a bit more ‘watery’, as opposed to westernised curries, but this in no way took away from the taste. Ordered the ‘Kerala Kozhi Curry’ with a ‘paratha’, which went excellently together.
My only slight issue was the chicken cubes in the curry were big, much bigger than other curries.
But overall, good venue, good food and good service.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tharavadu also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Tharavadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing