We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Suprise!”

Con Amici @ The Beehive
Ranked #330 of 2 296 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Beehive bar and restaurant is nestled in the picturesque village of Thorner just outside Leeds city centre and provides an outstanding dining experience in a relaxed environment away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our menus provide something for everyone to enjoy whether it's a casual dining experience, a business lunch, a quick catch-up or a celebration with family and friends. Join us at the bar or relax in the lounge area to unwind with your choice from our extensive variety of beers, ales, spirits and fine wines. Open from noon seven days a week, we offer a la carte dining as well as a lunchtime menu, daily specials and bar snacks. We also serve a superb traditional Sunday lunch from noon right through to 8pm every Sunday. Alfresco dining is available for those who choose to dine in one of the The Beehive's stunning beer gardens.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My friend and I made a unscheduled stop here for lunch.
From walking in we where greeted with very friendly staff.
We ordered off the lunch menu which was very good value,the dishes were most
Substantial and more importantly tasted amazing.
I would defiantly recommend eating here.
I will be returning.
Well done.

3  Thank Kirstie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived for an early tea and were the only people eating, service was pretty slow bizarrely . Pizza was tasty but portion size was a bit too small. Shame prices are on the high side. Glass of white wine was really lovely, ice cold in a lovely big glass. Would come back but we’re hoping it would be somewhere we could come for a midweek dinner but it’s a bit too pricey for that.

Thank Leleleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Been here twice now and both times have been very good, friendly and attentive staff, really good fresh food cooked very well and tasty.

Service was good although not to busy when we were there, had the calamari to start and a pizza which was one of the best I've had in a long time!
My wife had the stuffed chicken breast which was very good indeed.

Well worth a visit in my opinion.

1  Thank patdb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2018

Hi patdb65,

thanks very much to taking your time to write a review

i'm pleased and happy you enjoyed our food and service

i'm looking forward to see you again soon

Grazie

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The old Beehive which had been shut for sometime has got new a new lease of life though to look at the place you wouldn't notice that much difference apart from a lick of paint. Outside there's a lovely terrace, inside the bar and restaurant. On the Saturday evening we went the restaurant wasn't busy but had a enough customers to create good atmosphere, the bar appeared pretty much empty.The menu when we went consists of pizza, pasta, some meat & fish but it's not an extensive menu. This time we started with a main course of seafood pasta which we asked them to share between two plates, it came on one plate but food is all about sharing! The pasta was good, the garlic bread again was fine. The pizzas too were fine. In fact, apart from the service that was a little hit & miss (we had to ask for; black pepper, parmesan, drinks already ordered etc) all the food was fine. Surely however there's only so much you can do with a pizza and when it comes in at £13.95 it makes you think twice about popping in when you can't be bothered to cook, especially when there are a number of other strong options nearby offering greater value. The Pinot Grigio comes in at around £23 (from memory); in the local pub it's below £13 which might explain why the bar was empty. In fact I thought the wine list was overpriced in general and would benefit from a greater number of lower priced options. This is a local village pub/restaurant with great potential but the menu doesn't offer the chefs a chance to show off their skills. How great it would be to have a changing specials board that could showcase their cooking and ingredients and a wine list that offered greater value for money. I'm not sure the Con Amici knows what it wants to be - a pub with a restaurant attracting locals who might go every few weeks or a restaurant with a bar that has a menu with the ability to attract customers from far afield. At the moment I feel it falls between two stalls.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Thursday night with friends. In summary we had a bad experience, we will not be returning as there is too much good choice elsewhere!

We had booked a table for 8pm arriving at 7.30pm to have a drink in the bar, the restaurant and bar were not busy at this time. The bar area was uninspiring a large area with no atmosphere and poor seating choices. We weren’t taken to our table until 8.45pm even at that point the waiter seemed unsure if our table was ready.
We were then left for another 10mins before our drinks order was taken, by this time we had been here nearly 1 1/2hrs! Our food order was taken but it didn’t arrive for another 20-30mins. By this point the restaurant was starting to get very quiet. Now there were more waiting staff than customers!

Our food when it arrived was less than average to say the least. Crab and avocado salad which only had half an avocado and crab meat (about two dessert spoons) was tasteless, the whole dish lacked anything apart from too many salad leaves! The seafood pizza was very average with a small quantity of seafood. The other salad again had too many salad leaves compared to the rest of the dish and too much Parmesan.The dessert, Tirimisu, was just sloppy sponge with no flavour.
Surely this isn’t a typical Italian experience!!

In hind sight we should of complained as the bill for four inc Drinks was £112. By the time we asked for the bill the staff were walking passed us checking their watches, it was only 10.20pm.

In summary it’s not worth spending your hard earned money here!

2  Thank Livelife1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 June 2018

Hi Jacueline H,

i'm very sad to hear you weren't happy with our new food menu and standard service.

could you please email me more information about your Thursday dining experience because I couldn't recognize your table such I was in my restaurant all night

massimoierace1983@gmail.com

thanks

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Con Amici @ The Beehive also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Con Amici @ The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing