We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit expensive”
Review of Tong Garden Centre

Tong Garden Centre
Ranked #16 of 91 things to do in Bradford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Independently owned, Tong Garden Centre is set in 17 acres of beautiful Yorkshire countryside, and within easy reach of Leeds and Bradford with extensive car and coach parking. There's plenty to see and do, whether you live locally or travel from further afield to spend the day with us. Open 7 days a week with an excellent choice of plants and bedding for a year round garden plus gorgeous gifts and home accessories, beautiful outdoor furniture and all you need to keep your garden looking great each and every season, Tong is set to inspire you! At Christmas time the centre is transformed in to a magical wonderland filled with inspiring ideas to decorate your home. You'll also find The Coffee Shop and Orchard Kitchen serving a beautifully-seasonal and freshly prepared menu for you to enjoy.For the family, you'll find Grass Hoppers Outdoor Adventure Playground with jumping pillows, giant sandpit, trim-trail, ride-on cars and much more. Entry fee applies.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 April 2018

It is a very pleasant place to stop for a coffee and snack but to me it seems very expensive, which I think applies throughout the store except for the concessions.

1  Thank roboraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Tong, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and rating, we really appreciate it. We're obviously very disappointed to read that you find us expensive as we work hard to offer a great variety of products aimed to suit a range of budgets so we really do hope you'll give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play area"
in 55 reviews
"great garden centre"
in 15 reviews
"grass hoppers"
in 12 reviews
"per child"
in 20 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 10 reviews
"garden ornaments"
in 9 reviews
"new owners"
in 21 reviews
"bedding plants"
in 7 reviews
"xmas decorations"
in 7 reviews
"bon marche"
in 7 reviews
"santa experience"
in 6 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 28 reviews
"sand area"
in 6 reviews
"pot of tea"
in 6 reviews
"hot food"
in 8 reviews
"zip wire"
in 8 reviews
"cakes"
in 19 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Lovely place to spend a while. Apart from everything for your garden, there is so much more. Gifts, pets, books and a lovely restaurant.

Thank altheamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Tong, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much for the feedback and rating, we really appreciate and do hope we'll see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Looked at your website and it said you where on today, do drive all the way there and your closed. Very disappointing and a waste of my petrol and time.

Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Tong, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Linda and we are sorry you were unable to visit us on Sunday however we are very surprised by your feedback. Our opening times were updated early last week (on both our Tong and Grass Hopper websites) to include the fact that we were closed on Easter Sunday, we have a banner on our homepage that has our Easter opening times which, again, included that we were closed on Easter Sunday and we also had this information on our Facebook/Twitter too! If you saw this information anywhere else then please do let us know and we can investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Great out of town garden centre with all sorts of other shopping spaces to make it a great one stop place. Plants are fresh and cafe is excellent value and lovely cakes!!

Thank Alison23lufbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Tong, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much, we're thrilled you enjoyed your day out and really hope we'll see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I first thought it was a good lay out, an early split of queues, one to the left for sandwiches and cakes, one to the right for hot meals, until you realise that you/your party need both! Then it’s two queues. We arrived at about 11:45 on a sunny Sunday so we were expecting it to be busy, but it wasn’t too bad. Having ordered and paid we found a table without difficulty. The chairs were wicker with a cushion attached to the frame. Looked good but not too sure when there was any cleaning down the side of the cushions. Luckily there was only three of us so I could choose another chair, not sure there was sufficient space for both me and the food wreckage in the first chair. The hot drinks arrived first and on my first sip decided that it was ordinary tea not the Earl Grey I had ordered. I asked a waitress to check. She returned shorty with a fresh pot with a label hanging out saying Earl Gray, very re assuring. I was expecting a replacement cup and saucer, but only got a cup, so had to take the bits of sugar wrapper etc. off my other saucer to re-use it. Then we had the original cup of tea left sitting there all the time. The food, whilst reasonably priced, the meal cost us £24 for three, especially for a garden centre, was disappointing. My carvery bap was a large floppy bread cake with two small slices of beef in. The two paninis were very flat and tasteless. There was a high proportion of parents with young children, and an even higher proportion of parents who can’t be bothered to control children, so lots of screaming and activity.

What difference a smile would have made. There must have been 8 or 9 staff around, including those in the kitchen you can see and we didn’t see a smile form one of them. There was a feeling of doing a job/can’t be bothered by all the staff we saw or dealt with

4  Thank PBPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tong Garden Centre also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Tong Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing