We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location. Beautiful accommodation”

Review of Pitlands Barns

Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen The Granary - spacious entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen
The Granary - spacious entrance hall
The Granary - spacious open plan sitting room
The Granary - spacious open plan living area
The Granary - dining table seating 14
The Granary - bedroom
The Granary - garden
The Cart Shed
The Cart Shed - kitchen
The Cart Shed - sitting and dining area
The Cart Shed - bedroom
The Stables
The Stables - kitchen
The Stables - sitting room
The Stables - bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic location. Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home after a fabulous stay at The Stables at Pitlands Barn. The property is of a high standard, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. There was nothing that we needed that wasn't provided. The hosts were very friendly and the wine, Victoria sponge and fresh eggs much appreciated. We were all thoroughly relaxed at the end of our stay and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting and high quality of accommodation
Liked least: The single track road on the way to the property but all drivers very courteous about passing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzi6620...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A fantastic place for a multi-generation family weekend away.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved this peaceful, rural retreat for our extended family of 12. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. It worked well for all three generations - from elderly grandparents who needed level access to the younger grand children.
We loved the garden to sit out, and barbecue, and play games. The younger children loved exploring the woods above the farm and helping feed the chickens. The location in in gorgeous countryside.
Kelly and her family were excellent hosts and made us feel at home and welcome.
We'd definitely recommend Pitlands Barns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Comfortable, spacious and peaceful.
Liked least: We felt the lighting in the kitchen area in the Granary could have been improved a little - a minor niggle.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambo48
Warwick, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal 80th birthday family celebration”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If if you have need for accomodation for a large group which has big enough space for all to socialise , while providing privacy at other times then this is perfect. The huge open space upstairs in The Granary is fantastic. Lovely area to relax with 4 large sofa's, a huge dining table, and an open plan kitchen that means those doing the cooking do not feel cut off from everyone else. This was the hub of our weekend, and we never needed to play the many board games or watch DVD's that were available. Kelly was very friendly, and just left us to get on with it, once we were settled in.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryandA...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It Was Just Perfect”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

When planning a surprise Birthday celebration for my husband I found it hard to find the right combination of great location / stylish accommodation / & up to 7 en suites. Then I happened upon Pitlands in Up Marden. Kelly, her husband and father -in -law could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. When I checked on arrival day to see if my order of wine had arrived, Kelly immediately asked, typical of her wonderful helpfulness, if she could put it in refrigerators for me.

It was a great success all round. With guests arriving from all over the world & the UK I had to make sure it was somewhere special and all agreed it was just superb. Thank you Pitlands Team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Barns & owners
Liked least: Zero mobile phone signal from most servers & extra sensitive touch button electric hob
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We took over all 3 barns for a hen do and had the most fantastic time. Beautiful surroundings, a stunning communal space to party in, lovely gardens to play silly games in, plenty of space for people to get some time out if they wanted it. Kelly could not have been more friendly and hospitable and I know that if we had needed anything at all she would have done her best to help. There was plenty of useful information on where to go and what to do and while we didn't have time to really explore I hope to be back again soon so that we can.
I couldn't recommend the barns highly enough - they are beautiful, well equipped, comfortable and in exceptional surroundings. Whilst we were there on a hen do this time, i am already thinking about when we might be able to arrange a family holiday back. It really is perfect, whatever the occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$521
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing