We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average and not cheap”

Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #153 of 2 493 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$47
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Decor as per Chinese restaurant so very nice. Had to ask for prawn crackers. Food under seasoned quite bland. My partner could make better at home. £14 per portion is well overpriced. Fillet of beef didn't meet expectation. Rice under cooked. Wine menu said Thorne Hill chardonnay yet the waiter quickly poured it and it was chardonnay/semillion blend. May be better to stick with your local Chinese as this seems the food you would get mass market and no-one cares. Still eating our prawn crackers because the main didn't fill us up.

Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Owner at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi Lin, thank you for your review. Please note that as we do not sell Thorne Hill Chardonnay at Chung Ying Central, we gather your review is directed at our sister restaurant, 'Chung Ying Cantonese'. We really appreciate your feedback and will definitely take your comments on board and ensure that this gets passed on to the relevant teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We booked Chung Ying Central for a networking night & they were great. Food cocktails & a fun evening. Great staff who looked after a raucous crowd with a light touch.
I eat here anyway & that’s great. The food was the same high standard. Fusion Chinese !
Well worth a trip & the cocktail menu is top !

Thank IanVezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks very much for this lovely review. We're very happy you had an enjoyable meal and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

It’s always pleasant to visit this restaurant due to professional staff and service as well as delicious food.

Thank Melli98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Popped in on the off chance that they'd have a table one Saturday and had a delicious meal from their lunchtime menu. Great service, friendly reception and definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks very much for this lovely review. We're very happy you had an enjoyable meal and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

First visit to Chung Ying Central, my colleagues and I were very impressed with the food, surroundings and service. We had a selection of dishes, all were really tasty; a couple of dishes really stood out - beef dumplings and baby octopus were simply delicious! : )

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NicolaKarisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Manager at Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi there,
Thanks for the positive feedback We're glad you enjoy coming here. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Chung Ying Central Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing