We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 985)
Filter reviews
1 985 results
Traveller rating
607
788
338
143
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
788
338
143
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view pillow spray genting arena resorts world shuttle bus trouser press reception staff car park business hotel close to the airport stayed here for one night good nights sleep following morning night's sleep full english nec concert
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1 985 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Well-located from Mway junction and in close proximity to airport. Hotel can organise taxi at a preferential rate and on-site parking is available. This created a competitive package (although prices may vary).

Good room, quiet and with reasonable restaurant. Breakfast was good.

Would definitely recommend if flying from Birmingham.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roderic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I found this to be a poor quality example of a Crowne Plaza. Check in was slow, the room very dated and smelt of mould (from the shower curtain), the room was very small, had an empty mini fridge and not even any bottled water.
The temperature was far too hot, the air conditioning system did not work and the hotel staff admitted it was the source of many complaints.
The Ibis, closer to the airport, actually has similar sized rooms and facilities for much less. It looks like the owner has failed to invest in the hotel and it now shows.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Used the hotel, before an early morning flight and on the whole very impressed by the staff. and hotel
The young guy in the bar (Matt ?) was really friendly and helpful and was a good ambassador for the hotel.
We had a early morning flight and was very impressed by the night staff- I am afraid I did not get his name-, because of the time I organised an early morning call , (which happened as requested) and a couple of minutes later, we even got a knock on the door to check that we had responded to the wake up. This has never happened before and I thought was excellent. service.
In addition, when we were waiting for our taxi, which was delayed this guy made various calls to sort the matter.. Really good service.
Did not use the restaurant as we were able to eat locally in the shopping mall.
Room was Ok and it was not too noisy for an airport hotel.
It was a £10 taxi ride to and from the airport, which was reasonable.
I would have given 5 stars but at check in I asked for the taxi to be booked for the morning, but this was not acted upon. Luckily, before retiring for the night I went to check the taxi was booked to discover the error.. Had I not checked it could have been quite problematical

Room Tip: Higher the better
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Booked parking and a stay on return, drop seemed all good, staff friendly, 10 mins walk to airport. Take keys with you after parking.

We were staying on return.

Arrived at hotel 02:50 am by Uber £10 from airport.

Check in guy's face said it all, seems they were full ! Another couple were just being told the same. We were asked to wait....chatted to another couple leaving @3am. Forward 35 mins, we were given the the just vacated room 102, by the couple we were talking to. It did appear to have been cleaned but was literally still warm.

We did have to wonder how or why they overbooked and what if the couple hadn't left ?? I expect better from IHG.

We asked for a free breakfast due to the waiting and it was offered as well as late checkout, so that's appreciated.

Finally got in bed about 3:35am, back awake by 5:45 am, room 102 faces directly to a loading bay, much banging and crashing from various HGVs , very noisy.

Add onto that guests leaving, doors banging, a good night's sleep we didn't get.

Breakfast is nice though, with pleasant staff.

Rooms well appointed and free WiFi.

Rating has to be poor though as been kept waiting at 3am us not acceptable and I expect a good night's sleep which we didn't get.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed here prior to flying from Birmingham.
The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel was well kept and staff very friendly.
The bar was a nice place to relax and watch the World Cup, and with the shopping mall next door it’s a great location to grab some food and last minute shop.
The room was pristine, and had a great night sleep.
Taxi company that the hotel booked on our behalf were very friendly also.
Great hotel will defiantly stay again

Stayed: June 2018
Thank luvi981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikita Agrawal A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Luvi981,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and staff. We are very happy that the service you received was very friendly especially the reception staff.

We are very thankful for you comments regarding the room being clean and learning that you had a great nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Nikita Agrawal, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews