We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
316
163
73
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
316
163
73
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location canal view room mailbox car park canal side bars and restaurants harvey nichols afternoon tea tesco express superior room friday night city centre lovely hotel good size hotel is situated new street station quiet room christmas market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2020

Where would i start, what an exceptional stay I've had last month with you guys. I call it the all smiles modern hospitality stay, especially in the midst of the pandemic and the new normal. Thanks to everyone, and a special mention to Marina and Jayne at reception. Paul, Rareesh, Michaela, Florina and Beatriz for your wonderful vibes at the bar. I don't want to leave anyone out everyone was amazing and caring! Definitely recommend for all purposes.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sultanals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Dear Sultanas,

Thank you for your kind review.
It is always a pleasure to accommodate such a wonderful guest as yourself!
We look forward to your future visits at our property.

Kind regards
Simon Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

High level of excellent customer service under COVID-19 conditions including no in-room service during a multi-night stay. Lovely to have coffee machine. Quiet in the room despite very central location. Discount deal with Mailbox Car Park but still pricey. Little tip for reception: to have small paper carrier bags for collecting supplies from reception.

Room tip: 4th or 5th floor
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatherMikeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Dear FatherMikeT,

Thank you for your kind review.

Please note that all the feedback we receive is essential for us. I am happy to hear about your experience at the AC Hotel especially in such a difficult time.

We look forward to accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020

This hotel is perfect! The interior and facilities are modern and contemporary. The entire public area and bedroom was spotlessly clean and sanitised, and the hotel had great safety measures in place against covid-19. The location could not be any more perfect... right in the centre on the Mailbox, next door to all of the bars and restaurants. But what makes the hotel is the AMAZING STAFF! they made us feel like we were at home. I have to give a special mention to Beatrix from breakfast, and Jayne and Albert from reception. These team members are an asset to the hotel - the best in the business at their jobs :) thank you to the entire Hotel team for making our stay amazing, and making us feel safe against the virus. We will definitely be back soon!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 489brittc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Dear 489brittc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at AC Hotel Birmingham. I am really pleased to hear that you appreciated the safety measures we have implemented at the hotel, as our guests' safety is our priority during these unprecedented times.
I am also happy to hear the wonderful praises about our staff. We are grateful for your kind words and appreciation.
Once again, thank you for your lovely review, and we are looking forward to welcome you back, whenever your travels bring you back to Birmingham!

Kind regards,
Simon Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2020

Not at all expencive. very good hotel at a good price. good size TV, a good shower, nice view out the window. friendly staff to. and always there if you need them. but all in all a good stay at a ok price. ideal for most things such as couples, business or just a few days by some nice resraurants and canal walks

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2020

Dear Brian,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and we look forward to accommodate you at the AC Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Simon Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2020

Stayed here recently after being moved from our planned reservation at an IHG hotel nearby. The welcome was excellent and checked in brilliantly and found our room.

Everything was set up nicely for social distancing and we and other guests used the sanitizer provided and while its a little different was pretty straightforward.

Room was the normal business type thing, they're all the same. Shower though had poor water pressure and we both showered in the evening and morning and it was just appalling.

You get two plastic cups in your room, 2 tea bags, 2 coffee sachets and 2 sachets of milk which meant trying to enjoy a few drinks in your room is pretty hard. Both milks though were out of date so meant either black tea or ringing housekeeping. Felt we were being rashioned!

Room was quite noisy and there was lots of banging around 6-7am which was disappointing.

Our breakfast was OK, but croissants were not edible, we ordered a couple of sausage baps with ketchup and I took all our items back to the room, but again the ketchup sachets were out of date. Felt like they'd just got everything out the store room and not checked dates on things. I know we have to adjust to Corona times but seems some of the basics were missed.

We won't stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gxm158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2020

Dear gxm158

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at AC Hotel Birmingham. I am really pleased to hear that you appreciated the safety measures we have implemented at the hotel.

During the reopening process we had reviewed all of our procedures, stock and standards. I am very disappointed to hear that we missed a couple of these basic items, and will be sure to go back and double check these items. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to demonstrate that this was a one-off error.

Thank you once again,
Kind Regards,
Simon Barratt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews