We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb day out”
Review of Cadbury World

Cadbury World
Ranked #61 of 303 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Uncover a world of chocolate delights and enjoy a fascinating, fun-packed day out at Cadbury World. From learning how your favourite confectionery is made and uncovering the fascinating story of Cadbury chocolate, to playing in chocolate rain and adding your favourite treat to a delicious pot of warm liquid Cadbury Dairy Milk. You'll discover the origins of the cocoa bean amidst trees and waterfalls in the Aztec Jungle, before jumping on board the magical Cadabra ride and visiting the brand new 4D Chocolate Adventure zone, a 4D cinema experience featuring Cadbury's most popular characters. Cadbury World is located in the grounds of the original Cadbury factory, but isn't a tour of the factory itself. Instead, you'll discover the history, the making and the magic of Cadbury confectionery as you journey through our chocolatey zones.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great activity on a wet day as well as a dry day. The ride is good and the screen with the three d glasses cinema is fantastic. We watched the freddo the frog show too. The staff are lovely. The shop is fantastic with great choices and great prices. There is a large play park outside with a couple of eating outlets. There is a large cafe on site with good varied choices of meals and snacks. Again, prices are very reasonable. You receive several chocolate bars on your way in to the factory and a few whilst walking around it. The Easter Bunny was there too so we did the Easter egg hunt. At the end you had to say how many eggs you had found and the children then received a chocolate easter bunny. There are chocolate demonstrations shown and you can write your name in chocolate. This is a great day out for all the family. Loved it. Costs 17.00 for adults, 12.50 for 5-15 year olds, 12.75 for senior citizens. Free for under four’s. Family offers are available too.

Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent day out to Cadbury World, especially riding on the 4D Chocolate Adventure! Its also great to hear you found our staff lovely. We give staff training and motivation the highest priority in running Cadbury World, as it has such an impact on the quality of the experience our visitors receive here.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Cadbury World in the future and provide you with a 5 star experience :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8 052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free chocolate"
in 973 reviews
"melted chocolate"
in 499 reviews
"cadabra ride"
in 319 reviews
"play area"
in 549 reviews
"bournville experience"
in 140 reviews
"love chocolate"
in 134 reviews
"chocolate lovers"
in 128 reviews
"chocolate shop"
in 102 reviews
"chocolate tasting"
in 100 reviews
"magic show"
in 113 reviews
"bournville village"
in 112 reviews
"time slot"
in 206 reviews
"great family day"
in 97 reviews
"on arrival"
in 184 reviews
"booked online"
in 81 reviews
"school holidays"
in 117 reviews
"great for kids"
in 80 reviews
Filter

238 - 242 of 8 053 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Where do I start?
Easter weekend!!! Busy you would expect but perhaps how busy it actually was you may not. Book in advance most definitely as people were arriving and been turned away. The tour it's self was okay I feel too many people were booked on each one and allowed in at once. The tours seemed to be running around 20 mins behind at lunchtime already. If you were the unlucky few/many waiting in the entrance or catching some very pricey lunch around this time you may be forgiven by been irritated by the constant announcements by staff members in the area on the microphone. Come on!!! Use this time to entertain people not irritate. Imagination needed to make experience better, or at least change the tune.
Once in the tour the queuing was awful for each area the whole family bored to tears and definitely a lack of seating for visitors with mobility issues. We did notice later a magican entertaining in some areas (when we had already finished this queing area) this we thought was a good idea maybe more of this could have been added at busy times. Some good information and enjoyable experiences we all enjoyed the history of Cadbury and Bournville but too many people packed in unable to sit or hear. Didn't see much chocolate making as we went around the demo about tempering was okay guy really enthusiastic but couldn't hear much at all. We enjoyed watching the ladies hand painting some shoes and the growing beans talk was fun but many unable to sit!! The pictures from green screen and car trip a complete rip off cheapest picture £10. Wow i know you dont need to purchase but when you encouraged to take part as long wait in que and as part of the tour its very hard to avoid buying excited children wanting these. They were probably worth £2 at the most absolute. Not good enough Cadburys you need to up your game. The free chocolate was enjoyed by all, unfortunately we didn't get time see the 4d cinema due to the queing and the fact we were on a coach trip so restricted time. This we were told, was good. Would we return? Not convinced really glad we seen it but wouldn't rush back,with a few adjustments and stop trying to take as much money as possible and letting too many in it could be very enjoyable .

Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

Thank you for highlighting the problems you experienced with queuing inside Cadbury World. We understand how frustrating queuing can be at attractions and have endeavored to reduce congestion by controlling the time at which all our visitors enter the exhibition. However, speed of progress through the exhibition varies greatly from visitor to visitor. As with other UK tourist attractions an element of queuing should be expected, especially at busy periods such as weekends and school holidays and occasionally this results in congestion at certain points.

We are sorry if you felt that you did not receive value for money. We do believe that our prices are fairly based especially when judged against other tourist attractions. If our research shows the consumer is not receiving good value for money then of course this decision will be reviewed. Additional items purchased such as souvenirs and photographs are bought at your own discretion.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed learning the history of Cadbury and the Cadbury family and the yummy chocolate samples!

We strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your recommendations.

Best wishes.







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We visited here on Good Friday of the Easter Weekend and yes it was busy, we agree with the previous review by "Laura M" this place is is just awful. Its advertised as having loads to see and do before your tour (which you have to prebook at a specific time) our tour was 12:50pm so we arrived for 10:30am to have time to do all these things before the tour......big mistake! We ended up trying to kill over 2 hours with a 4 year old, we did the 4D Cinema but once that was done (took 20 minutes) there was nothing really to do. The food kiosks were massively overpriced, the Bournville Museum was very poor (one room with a couple of marble busts of the Cadbury founders, John Cadbury's umbrella in a perspex case and a mock up shop front with a few old wrappers in it!)

Way too many people being allowed into attraction at one time causing massive ques, very poor little car ride thing that took an hour to que for, staff tried to help, magician in queue lovely guy, had seen him on stilts earlier, I think he was the only entertainer though. The Cadbury Cafe was again on the expensive side (£18 for 2 hot chocolates, 2 pieces of cake and a Slushy!) the hot chocolates didn't taste right and the tables were all filthy and needed wiping down. We looked for somewhere to clear our tray and cups to but couldn't see anywhere obvious, if its not self clear then have more people clearing the tables!

The factory shop was reasonably priced but on the whole I would say the place is a rip off to be honest, you do receive a couple of 'free' chocolate bars (£1.00 for a bag to carry them round in), and a random green screen for a £10 photo??!

I agree with other reviews, in short its complete rip off, I honestly wouldn't waste my time, try somewhere with a bit more too it, and better value for money!!

1  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit. At Cadbury World we strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your recommendations. Let us know more here: cadburyworldgeneralenquiries@mdlz.com.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just ok. Thought it would be better. Took my 10 year old she was rather bored with the educational shows. Liked some parts. The cadabra ride is only for toddlers not 10 yr olds lol. Best bit was the 4d adventure but been on much better ones. Shop good has a few bargains in there. Wouldnt go again

Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

All attractions are subjective and what appeals to one particular person or family does not always suit another. We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy. Within the exhibition, the first part concentrates on the history of cocoa products, their introduction into Europe and the Cadbury history and development of the business. We also have a number of areas that create fun and interaction for children such as the Cadabra ride, the Chocolate Making area and Purple Planet. In addition, Advertising Avenue, the Bournville Experience and our new 4D Chocolate Adventure are also areas of interaction. We have won many awards for the interpretation, customer service and the accommodation of visitor requirements.

We strive to offer a customer experience which suits everyone and are sorry that on this occasion we did not achieve this.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This attraction is just another tick box, thats all. not much to do here & is all very substandard. If you are traveling afar to come here i really wouldn't bother.

Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy. The beginning of the exhibition concentrates on the history of Cadbury and Bournville while other zones provide fun and interaction for children and little ones such as Purple Planet, our 4D Chocolate adventure and the Cadabra ride.

We strive to offer a customer experience which suits everyone and are sorry that on this occasion we did not achieve this.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadbury World also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Cadbury World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing