We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorhen Cottage in centre of Stratford upon Avon on canalside (Blue one in Row)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorhen Cottage in centre of Stratford upon Avon on canalside (Blue one in Row)
Moorhen Cottage Dining Area Moorhen Cottage bright and sunny kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Moorhen Cottage in centre of Stratford upon Avon on canalside (Blue one in Row)
Moorhen Cottage Dining Area
Moorhen Cottage bright and sunny kitchen
Moorhen Cottage Dining Table and Dresser
Moorhen Cottage view to back garden gate on to canal towpath
Moorhen Cottage Sitting Room
Moorhen Cottage Log Burner in sitting room
Moorhen Cottage Master Bedroom (view over waterside)
Moorhen Cottage Twin Bedroom
Moorhen Cottage Third Bedroom with view over the waterside
Moorhen Cottage contemporary Bathroom
Moorhen Cottage - view from canal towpath through back gate
Moorhen Cottage outside dining in private garden
Moorhen Cottage view through back gate as boats go by
Moorhen Cottage view from Master Bedroom over garden and canalside
Moorhen Cottage seating by canal gate
Moorhen Cottage garden
Moorhen Cottage visitors looking through canal gate
Moorhen Cottage locals outside back gate
Moorhen Cottage front and drive
Moorhen Cottage nearest canal lock gates
Moorhen Cottage towpath walk to town centre, River Avon and RSC theatre
Welcome to Moorhen Cottage
Moorhen Cottage local family
Moorhen Cottage view to lock gates and bridge - short cut to Shakespeare's Birthplace
Stratford upon Avon has outstanding Christmas Decorations
Stratford upon Avon and some of the Christmas Lights
Stratford upon Avon Christmas Market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were delighted with Moorhen Cottage. It was perfectly situated, a short walk into town in a quiet area with everything we needed for a really excellent few days in Stratford. It was so clean and well appointed, lovely sitting area in a small garden which lead onto the canal towpath, and a superb welcome hamper which included a bottle of wine! It was really good to be able to leave the car on the drive! We, four friends, would thoroughly recommend it and would book again without hesitation.
We had some excellent meals in Loxley's and Pierre's at the Swan's Nest, and a very enjoyable evening on the Duchess of Evesham dinner cruise along the Avon.
We would recommend the tour bus which took us to Anne Hathaway's Cottage and Mary Arden's Farm which we would not have missed! The weather was wonderful and all Stratford's attractions were excellent. Thank you Sue for a lovely three days away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tru99
2 reviews
“Superb home from home and excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay. The location was perfect and the house was very clean and tidy with all amenities thought of. The welcome hamper was very thoughtful and excellent communication from the owner.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
333avon
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would liked to have stayed longer”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The owner provided us with everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The property was maintained to a very high standard. The trip into town was about 5 mins walking along the canal path and was a lovely journey. There was adequate parking for 3 cars . The cottage was very pleasant and a had a lovely homely feel with a lovely rear garden to enjoy outdoor leisure. An excellent goody basket was provided and a special effort had been made to acknowledge my birthday. There were maps and leaflets in the cottage for information. It would be a place I would happily return to if the occasion arose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden facility
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect location in our home away from home”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We arrived with our teenager and 90 year old Auntie. The house is spotless, and the welcome basket with various goodies and chocolate Easter eggs was adorable. The kitchen had tea, hot chocolate and french press coffee, milk, juice, water, jam, butter and bread. We parked the car at the house, and walked almost everywhere. The path along the river was pretty, and we walked to the Royal Shakespeare Theater in about ten minutes. The rooms have comfortable beds, nice heating, and they are all upstairs. There was no problem with the stairs for a very fit senior citizen, and she loved the walks into town. I would highly recommend staying here, and there was even laundry detergent for laundry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth M
1 review
“Wonderful Cottage, Perfect Weekend!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had the most wonderful weekend at Moorhen cottage to celebrate my mums birthday. Sue laid on a VERY generous welcome basket of goodies and the house was supplied with everything you could need!

Very quick and lovely walk into town down the towpath into town, and we got to be part of the Shakespere's 400th anniversary celebrations!

Would highly reccomend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing