We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 501)
Filter reviews
2 501 results
Traveller rating
862
768
450
263
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
768
450
263
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews topiary garden stuart restaurant premium room afternoon tea main building secret escapes sauna and steam room the barn evening meal spa facilities lovely grounds tennis courts beautiful hotel three course meal spa break no lift old building
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 2 501 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

I would just like to thank Naomi for organising an absolutely outstanding evening all the staff were fantastic especially Vivian who looked after us on the night, her professionalism in making the whole evening relaxing and most enjoyable was great.Also full compliments to the Chef as there was a last minute request which was no problem at all and providing a faultless meal for 86 guests .Truly outstanding.
Thank you all again
Dave

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank F747GMdavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your super review,

I will personally thank Naomi and Vivien on your behalf, they really are a huge asset to the Manor,

We are thrilled the event went so well,

KR

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Beautiful grounds and a lovely drive up to a very distinctive manor house. Reception and check-in was fast, efficient and pleasant. This being a spa and pamper weekend we decided not to peak too early by going swimming straight away, instead sampling some of the alcoholic treats in the bar. Mulberry Gin and Lemon tonic is a must if you have any inclination towards those flavours. A few drinks later we retired to our lovely feature bedrooms. Décor, size, cleanliness and fittings all adding to the comfortable manor house feel. The evening meal could have been a better all round experience because we had to be moved due to a cold draught coming from the window on a cold and very wet and windy evening. Service was little slow but improved as the meal progressed. The food though was in the main well cooked but, we all agreed, overpriced for what was served up especially with vegetables at £4 for each extra bowl that just about served 2. Be wary of your food choices. The breast of lamb was little more that a disc of stuffing wrapped in thin, fatty lamb. With only 3 of these 50 mm by 10 mm discs per serving and a supplement due to it being on the a la carte menu not set price, very poor value. Also the cheese and biscuits choice incurred a £6 supplement, the a la carte price being £12 for a dice size cube of chutney jelly, a small part of a chopped up stick of celery and 3 of the most miniscule wedges of Brie, Stilton (possibly) and goats cheese ever served up.
The second day started with a hearty, buffet style, all you can eat breakfast which was good but let down by cold plates and tea and coffee being served in pots that must also have been cold when decanted. Something that was remedied the following day so full marks for responding to a quiet and polite word.
The spa was excellent with all 6 of us having 2 treatments through the day, as well as the ladies joining the yoga class. All treatments were provided by friendly and professional people and left us feeling very relaxed and chilled.
Overall we had a great weekend in a stunning setting. It could have been a fabulous weekend with a little more attention to detail and a review of the hotel food pricing policy.

Room tip: If you can, stay away from function rooms if there is a function/wedding planned
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Steve7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Steve,

Thanks for your review,

We are delighted that overall you had a nice stay with us,

Thanks for the feedback which has been taken on board and actioned already,

KR

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Stayed for one night as a break away with my husband. Very organised at reception on check in and our first room was lovely ~ but unfortunately one of the windows would not close. This would not have been an issue at all if it wasn’t quite chilly outside and there were pretty extreme gusts of wind. We were quickly re-roomed to a feature room that was beautiful. The three course dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the atmosphere created by the decor made it a really relaxed and romantic dinner.

The hotel itself is full of the old world charm you would expect from a hotel so near to Shakespeare’s home town - it doesn’t disappoint in terms of the wood panelling, beamed ceilings and decoration. We also really enjoyed the use of the swimming pool, sauna and steam room. The gym looked good too (although we weren’t attempting that after a three course dinner the night before and a lot of really tasty breakfast that morning).

The hotel is 15 mins away from Stratford upon Avon so is in a really good position to explore from.

Overall we loved our stay and would definitely go back.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 468kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you 468kat,

WE are delighted you had a lovely night away,

Come back soon please,

KR

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Our rooms were excellent, conveniently sited for the spa as requested. The food was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The spa facilities were as expected although the ladies changing room needed repair.

Would recommend a visit and will be visiting again.

Room tip: Request a room in the main hotel.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Margaret,

THANK YOU for youe super review,

We start a refurb of all areas inc changing rooms shortly,

KR

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We stayed at the Billesley Manor while visiting Stratford-Upon-Avon recently. Only a short drive to the centre of town or, better still, the excellent park and ride. As you would expect from a building of this age it is a little bit quirky and perhaps not in 100% condition. However the place is very clean, there is plenty of free parking, the grounds are lovely and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We had dinner, bed and breakfast as we were on a deal. All the food was excellent although I noticed that the menu on the second night was identical to the first! Not sure when they change the menu choices but hope it was not the same again on the third night. We were not there to find out! If you want a modern hotel then this would not be for you. If you want somewhere off the beaten track and with old English charm then this would suit.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversurfer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Silversurfer59,

THANK YOU for this lovely review,

WE are all delighted you had such a super stay with us,

Lets hope we see you again very soon,

KR

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews