We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Holiday Location”
other travellers have booked this property
In the courtyard garden leading to french doors in the kitchen, south east facing gives sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In the courtyard garden leading to french doors in the kitchen, south east facing gives sun
Wood maple kitchen, flagstone floor and belfast sink with mod cons - washer/dryer and fridge hidden And so to bed in a light airy room with double aspect windows and comfortable bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
In the courtyard garden leading to french doors in the kitchen, south east facing gives sun
Wood maple kitchen, flagstone floor and belfast sink with mod cons - washer/dryer and fridge hidden
And so to bed in a light airy room with double aspect windows and comfortable bed
The Blue Door
Come on in
Just right for dining and chatting as you cook or eat that takeway only 2 minutes walk
Listen to the radio and relax
Courtyard view
Have a drink on the patio - tea, coffee or vino!
The sunny patio garden
Garden
Rest and relaxation by the open fire or with the heating on, wood effect Karndean flooring
Downstairs area
Character stairway to the bedrooms
Double bedroom
For your little one or your friend, a rear facing room enjoying sun in the morning
Plenty of storage space in bedroom 2
Bathroom
The bridge over the river avon - 2 miniutes walk to the park
Walk along the river to the Cottage of Content at Barton for food or just a drink
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bidford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
degibbs
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I spent a month at the Blue Door and found the cottage to be well equipped and especially loved the location and easy access to historic places in the Cotswalds, Midlands and Oxfordshire. The cottage was comfortable, clean and well equipped (minus a freezer) and an ideal home away from home. Within walking distance to supermarkets, butcher, bakery, pub and restaurants. Our choice of the Blue Door totally fulfilled our expectations of a country holdiay in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No freezer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JochemWen...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable home in a great location”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed "behind the blue door" for a week in July and we've enjoyed every minute of it. The quiet town of Bidford-on-Avon doesn't offer much, but there are plenty of places to visit nearby.
The home itself was clean and comfortable and very suitable for our 6 year old daughter. There's an excellent WiFi connection, which enabled us to plan our daily trips in the area.
Stratford-upon-Avon, of course, is a must-see. For a lovely picknick or walk, we'd definitely recommend crossing the bridge over the Avon (just one minute away).
We had a great time and would recommend staying there to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The double bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebN3205GP
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a quiet riverside village”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a small village by the River Avon. It is well furnished and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen/diner is well equipped (except for a freezer) with extra crockery & glasses if you have friends round. It even has a small private back garden with table & chairs to enjoy the sunshine. The cottage is in a cul de sac making it quiet but everything you need is close by. Shops and pubs are all within walking distance including good butchers & baker & two supermarkets. Just over the bridge is plenty green space and a play park so you can relax to sit and watch the river or walk along the path beside it. Not far from the A46 making it a great base for visiting all the places in the area, eg Stratford, Evesham, Bourton-on-the-water, Stow-on-the-wold etc. Would recommend it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPOrman
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return visit didn't disappoint”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

So impressed were we with this cottage, its location and the personal touch when booking last year that we decided to visit again.

We weren't disappointed.

The location is sufficient to beat. Even with the closure of Bidford's medieval bridge to traffic (a result of an farmer driving a tractor into the bridge's side wall), there were no travel problems -- all areas remain easy to reach via glorious countryside.

Of course. We made the most of our holiday by cramming as much in as possible (and there's lots to visit), though we would have liked another fortnight just to enjoy relaxing in the cottage and surrounding countryside!

Would we return? Definitely!


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC170
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Couldn't Have Chosen Better”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage in Bidford was just perfect for my annual visit to Warwickshire . Everything about the cottage itself was just perfect. Loved the little courtyard and the well appointed kitchen. Handy for visiting Stratford upon Avon and all the Cotswold villages nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little courtyard at back
Liked least: Rumbling hot water system and difficulty getting phone connection
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$328
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing