We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but as with all airport establishments - overpriced”
Review of Flying Hippo

Flying Hippo
Ranked #1 039 of 1 401 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Managed to get a booth which added a little bit of privacy for our breakfast. Service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant. The food was fairly quick to arrive and was fairly tasty. Coffee was very nice. The portions were not the biggest but then again this is only to be expected in an airport environment. 2 traditional breakfasts (extra toast on 1) and 2 coffees for £28.27 though!!! hence the lack of 5 stars

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank GPSHADOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Very quiet restaurant, Wendy our waitress was great and particularly with the kids. The food itself was ok, standard Fayre- but we weren’t expecting much on that front anyway.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Had an early flight so thought we would have a breakfast ,then saw the price £14 chose an egg and bacon sandwich ,even that was over the top we know things are dearer at the airport but that over does it .

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank email626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Worst food i have ever eaten and extremely expensive. Avoid at all costs unless you want to be ripped off. We ordered an english breakfast for £14 which was very small, disgusting and unsatisfying.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hollycarol4494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Avoid this place it is very over priced for very small and crap portions. Possibly the worst breakfast I have ever had! This place should be shut down not good for the image of Newcastle Airport!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LeeF833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Hippo also viewed

Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Flying Hippo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing