We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 324)
Filter reviews
1 324 results
Traveller rating
550
510
180
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
510
180
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre car park next door train station free breakfast beans multi story car park sofa bed busy road excellent location st james park self service reception staff stag and hen parties budget hotel min walk yogurt checking in
Filter
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 1 324 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

First offered room was quite noisy as although on the courtyard side, it was on the end closest to the busy road. However, a quick call to reception and I was met at a new room which had just had a new carpet laid. Quiet, clean and well appointed. Staff at this hotel are incredibly friendly and I will miss going there now that my routine visits to Newcastle are coming to an end. Breakfast is pretty good for an Express too. One thing though; noisy air con so if that bothers you, turn it off.

Room Tip: |Ask for courtyard side; if you like it quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeeBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review it is great to hear you found the hotel to be quiet, clean and well appointed. My colleagues to be incredibly friendly and I am sorry you will miss coming here now that your routine visits to Newcastle are coming to an end. Breakfast is pretty good for an Express too.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Stayed here August Bank Holiday Weekend 2015 , the hotel is in a great location for City center shops Bars and resturants , parking is in a muti story next to hotel and is Free to park from 5pm to 8am , outside of this it is charged at 80p per hour or £3 all day Sunday so for example arrive 5pm Sat and park until 10am Monday will cost £3 for all day Sunday and £1.60 for two hours on Monday morning just enough time for Breakfast ! - Breakfast is traditional Holiday Inn Express and more than adequate for an included in room Breakfast , Hotel is a few minutes walk to St james Park so ideal for the match if thats why your visiting , there is a Indian across the courtyard and the Chinese Qtr is only a few minutes walk away also plenty of choices for food and Drinks withing a 10 to 15 walk as are some Shops although we didnt go there for shopping but looked liked most main high street stores were present and of course the Metro Center is a short drive away - not sure if there is public transport but likely to be , Hotel staff were very welcoming and Friendly and were happy to help in anyway they could a credit to the hotel we had a room on 4th Floor overlooking the courtyard and although i had heard hotel could be noisy with stag and Hen do parties , to be honest we heard nothing at all both nights you get the odd noise from those enjoying them selves with a few drinks ! which is as you would expect but it was all good humour and not an issue -so a flexible hotel , good for every age , sure it can get more Noise than we expercienced but can only comment on what we found which was nothing out of the ordinary and i would happily recommend this venue for a great weekend in Newcastle

Room Tip: High Floor courtyard View
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear guest

Many thanks for your great 5 star review regarding your recent stay it is great to hear that my colleagues were very welcoming and Friendly and were happy to help in anyway they could a credit to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in the city centre, great breakfast and friendly staff, a special mention to lee on reception (who seemed to be there morning noon and night) always smiling and a friendly chat while I was coming and going he helped me plan my journey to a late meeting and advised me on good places to eat. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank tracey0969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great 5 star review it is great to hear you found the hotel is perfectly located in the city centre, great breakfast and friendly staff. It is especially great to hear my special mentions from yourself it means a lot, we hope to see you next time you stay
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Nice, clean room with nice new bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and there was not a lot of noise because we were on the side of the hotel which faced the courtyard as apposed to the road. On arriving we rang down to reception as our air circulation unit was not working and someone dealt with this strait away. Although he could not fix it, he provided us with a fan which did the job. Good value for a city-centre hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katesg0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review it is great to hear Nice that you had a clean room with nice new bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and you did not encounter any noise.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Like staying in this chain, always nice clean rooms, good size for 3 people. All staff friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good.

Only downsides were car park charges (to be fair they were exactly as the hotel advertised, but still would be good if they could work to get these reduced) and though advertises as city centre hotel, it is a good 10 minute walk to the shops.

But you get what you pay for, and will certainly consider this strongly if visiting the toon again

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank adcr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review it is great to hear that you enjoy staying in this chain, always nice clean rooms, good size for 3 people. All staff friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews