We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny B
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a perfect stay here, there was nothing I can say bad about this cottage, just perfect :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable weekend. Beautiful place, fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Looking for the right words to describe the place, the surroundings and hosts is tricky as it's just so good.

All the cliches apply: beautiful scenery; amazing little cottage with little hidden secrets; everything you could ever need to feel comfortable; attention to detail and just an all round friendly experience with Joanne and Gordon. Nothing is too much bother even in the middle of their year end accounts they were happy to spare us the time for us to go and explore their DVD collection to find something to watch. Dog soldiers was recommended along with great stories about getting lost in the woods just up the road.

I found the place on the Friday via an article in the Newcastle Evening Chronicle, booked that day for the Saturday and Sunday evening, only a 40 min easy drive from Newcastle city centre but worlds away from the hustle and bustle. Despite only being 2 nights it felt like much longer and we are still craving the next stay as we didn't manage to get the clear dark skies to star gaze in the hot tub - and wow... what a hot tub!! overlooking the rolling Northumberland Countryside even on a cold evening it was simply breathtaking in complete darkness with the soothing lights, drink in hand, absolute bliss to just melt away any stresses from a week of work. Could happily get used to that on a regular basis. We didn't manage to get round to using the Sauna - but all the more reason for a return visit... I'll not reveal too much about the hidden secret within the cottage but just perfection for a cosy night in with a gin.

I could go on and on but really all I can say is book it, go there, experience it yourself and you'll be pining to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Silly question... nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write your very kind and slightly embarrassing kind review. We appreciate that time off is a precious thing, so we all need to make the most of it!
Since you've visit we have been decorating the lounge, so if you return anytime, hopefully we won't disappoint! X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding place to stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well just got back home from 3 nights in this beautiful little cottage the owners are very welcoming friendly people also the chickens and sheep are very friendly did not want to come home it's amazing having peace and quiet if was closer to home and could afford to we would definitely rent this as a home ! Worth every penny to stay here there new hot tube is astounding aswell as there new little hide away in the bedroom. Absolutely amazing all round trip local pub does amazing dinners and the local shop is just a little drive down the road would 110% recommend staying and can't wait for our next stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: bed was comfortable getting in but did wake up a bit stiff but nice hot shower fast sorted that
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich H
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute home from home - a must visit”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for a long weekend whilst attending a friend's wedding nearby. From the initial booking to the farewell and the gateway, both Gordon and Joanne were the consummate hosts making us most welcome in every respect. It is really like being welcomed as a member of the family.

The cottage is beautifully positioned to enjoy every aspect of the rugged wild Northumbrian National Park and is the perfect start point if you need to exhaust two excited spaniels like we did!

Inside the cottage itself you will find everything you could think of in a self catering holiday home and more besides....I'll give nothing away but the house has secret gifts to share with you!

We loved every minute of our time at Petty Knowes and if we get the chance we will be back in a heartbeat.

I can't recommend Gordan and Joanne highly enough - the most warm, welcoming and accommodating people you could ever hope to meet.

Go, please, you won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely a home from home
Liked least: Nothing what so ever
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimH543
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A superb get away from it all accommodation”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and me visited here with our dog for a three night stay.
Joanne and Gordon are excellent hosts helping to make us feel at home immediately, they are friendly and easy going.
The cottage is attractive, clean and very comfortable. It has open fires in the lounge and bedroom with logs and coal, really cosy. There is oil central heating and an easy boost button to get the cottage warm and snug too.
The lounge is very comfortable with large tv and DVD player with a selection of DVDs.
The bathroom has a walk in shower with toiletries and towels provided.
The kitchen is very well equipped, including tea towels and cleaning products. The bedroom has a king size sleigh bed and wall mounted tv.
This cottage has it all including peace and tranquility, the views are stunning.
We are already checking our diary to book our return trip, but for a longer stay next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing