We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect stay for our wedding party”

Review of The Guesthouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debbiejba...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect stay for our wedding party”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked the Guesthouse along with Deanfield, Kilnfield and Roman Well cottages for our family and friends for our wedding weekend. It was absolutely perfect!! We planned to have a couple of gazebos in the garden of the Guesthouse for our evening BBQ and garden games and Dave, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. He gave us carte blanche to set up as we wanted, he was on hand right up to the weekend to lend a hand and ensure we wanted for nothing. The accommodation is beautifully appointed, right down to the smallest detail. We couldn't have picked a better setting for our wedding celebrations.....thank you Dave and Gill, you made our wedding a weekend that we and our friends and family will never ever forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you Debbie and Johnathan, we know it wasnt the best of weather but we are really pleased that you, your family and guests enjoyed your weekend. We wish you all the very best for the future and look forward to seeing you all again, Dave and Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
From-Bove...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and location”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We got married at nearby Vallum Farm and stayed along with our guests at the Guest House for the long weekend.

We loved the house which was clean, spacious and well equipped and is ideal for large groups. We were a group of 14 and found the house was big enough for us all to relax without getting under each other's feet. It was also nice to have the gardens to relax in and enjoy when the sun shone.

An ideal spot to explore the area and immerse yourself in Roman history as well as enjoy the fabulous Northumberland countryside and local towns such as Corbridge.

The only slight small negative was the advertised wifi was not really much good but to be honest it wasn't a huge problem for us.

Thanks very much David and we hope to return again one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you very much Alan and Linda for your kind review, it gives us a huge buzz to know that you left after enjoying your stay in The Guesthouse and that we helped in a small way to make your wedding weekend something special. We would love to see you again and wish you all the very best for the future, kind regards, Dave and Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy_Brad...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect accommodation for our wedding weekend”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here in September 2015 for a long weekend when we got married at nearby Matfen High House Brewery. We rented the main guest house along with the three cottages for a long weekend, and the property could not have been better!

Dave was very helpful beforehand, with emails and telephone calls.

The photos on the website are amazing but en they do not to the place justice! It was really incredible, a truly unique place to stay, wonderfully quiet and spacious with beautiful gardens and an amazing kitchen and games room. All facilities were comfortable and in good working order.

Dave and Gill gave us all the privacy we needed but were always on hand if we needed assistance.

Could not recommend this place highly enough, it was an excellent experience which made our wedding even more memorable.

Would definitely go back!

5 stars! Thanks Dave and Gill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
2 reviews
“Exceptional Property in great location”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

12 of us stayed at the Guesthouse for a long weekend to watch some of the Rugby and were overwhelmed at how amazing both Dave and Gill were at welcoming us but also at the quality of the Guesthouse and surrounding countryside. All the rooms were finished to an exceptionally high standard and the whole house extremely spacious! Pool room and family rooms great for socialising too. I would highly recommend the Guesthouse for any large group staying around Newcastle or Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreditc...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic house in a beautiful countryside setting!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Guesthouse exceeds hotel standards & the countryside setting just like a postcard. Extremely well equipped, the huge farmhouse kitchen was perfect for mealtimes & there is plenty of space in the lounge & games room. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated, cosy with the comfiest beds & fluffy white towels. Dave and Gill were very helpful and had thought of everything to the tiny last detail from advice on countryside walks, coat hangers in all the wardrobes & coffee/wine on arrival. Thank you for a super break!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing