We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 153)
Filter reviews
2 153 results
Traveller rating
732
757
374
156
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
757
374
156
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bottle of wine complimentary water superior room kit kat leisure centre taxi rank travelling by train leisure club mini fridge street noise lovely hotel central location steam room would stay again full english buffet style saturday night
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2 153 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We went for a weekend to Newcastle, and the Station Hotel is ideally located in the city. It's walking distance to almost everywhere you want to see, and if you want to go further afield, it's right next to the mainline station and the Metro. The hotel is deceptively huge, and we had an internal room, so no windows allowing natural light in. There was a skylight, but the glass was opaque so while we had some sunlight, we needed the lights on. The beds were lovely and comfy, and there were robes and slippers provided. Also more than enough towels for two people, plus additional bedding if we needed it. The air conditioning in our room was broken, but the hotel gave us a Dyson fan to keep cool, which was great. We didn't eat in the hotel, but the food prices seemed pretty reasonable. The room fridge was stocked with complimentary water, juice and chocolate biscuits, which we weren't expecting. There was and event taking place on the Saturday night of our visit, but we weren't disturbed at all by any noise. And bearing in mind the proximity to the train station, we didn't hear any noise from there either - possibly due to the internal room. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Tracy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location. We are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed the complimentary room items. We do hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

very nice hotel helpful staff comfortably beds good shower.i loved the decor the mix of modern and vintage.The hotel was in a good central location for shops theatre and railway station. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thanks Liz for your great review following your recent theatre trip stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

My hubby and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and would defo return.
The girl I booked with was really helpful and friendly and promised us a nice room, which we got.
We had a good deal with breakfast both mornings, one evening meal and high tea included, all of which was delicious!
We got a parking bay just outside the hotel, luckily as they only have 20.
The swimming pool is a tad dated but had a steam room, sauna n plunge pool n had it to myself.
The only downside to our stay was the noise outside the hotel, which is not the hotels fault..but we did ask for a room for people watching, just didnt expect it to be as bad as it was!
Overall lovely stay, nice, friendly staff and will definitely stay again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rangersgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and do hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Wishes
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Great location for train travel and being in Newcastle. We chose to stay as had a very early train from Newcastle to London. The room was comfortable if a little bit dated. Unfortunately around 1 am the fire alarm went off ... 3 times in a row .. so took a bit to get back to sleep. We got out on time for our train anyway .... for easy location, nice comfortable bar area and comfortable rooms I would recommend the hotel and I’d stay again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to her that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location and had a comfortable stay. We are sorry about the fire alarm unfortunately this was beyond our control but do apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.
Best Wishes
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Good points
* Location is sweet
* Staff friendly and mostly helpful
* Complimentary water and snacks
* Comfortable bed
* Powerful shower
* Breakfast fine, but not ‘... probably the best breakfast ever...’ as another review describes it

Poor Points
* unable to charge to room
* unable to change booking
* empty shoe mitt box amongst toiletries
* tiny towels
* shower temperature control unresponsive
* road noise
* light leakage on curtains
* cumbersome WiFi reg a joke
* signage from station poor
* unusual room number sequence in corridor

Summary:
*Meh

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Crispness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location. Without any specific details with regards to your reservation I will try any respond to your points raised.

We do offer all guests on check in the option of leaving a pre authorisation of a credit/debit card which allows any extras to be added to the room bill no problem and is settled on check out.

With regards to amending your reservation, Again without any particular reservation details hard to give an accurate response, But generally speaking we always try our best to accommodate any changes that need to be made by our guests wherever we possibly can.

With regards to the road noise, If we had been made aware of this we could of looked into moving your room towards the back of the hotel, However we do provide ear plugs in all rooms.

We do have a maintenance team onsite to deal with any issues/problems that arise so again if we were made aware of the problem we can rectify straight away.

Your comments concerning our housekeeping team have been passed over to them. Also other general feedback has been passed over to the management.

We do once again thank you for your comments, We appreciate all feedback from our guests.
Kind Regards
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews