We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$110
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$30
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Savings alert! 49% below average rates

    The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Reviews (2 078)
    Filter reviews
    2 078 results
    Traveller rating
    700
    735
    359
    151
    133
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    700
    735
    359
    151
    133
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssmall bottle of winecomplimentary watersuperior roomcentral locationkit kattravelling by traintaxi rankleisure centremini fridgestreet noiselovely hotelsteam roomtea and coffeebars and restaurantswould stay againsaturday nightbuffet style
    Filter
    Updating list...
    14 - 19 of 2 078 reviews
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We went for a weekend to Newcastle, and the Station Hotel is ideally located in the city. It's walking distance to almost everywhere you want to see, and if you want to go further afield, it's right next to the mainline station and the Metro. The hotel is deceptively huge, and we had an internal room, so no windows allowing natural light in. There was a skylight, but the glass was opaque so while we had some sunlight, we needed the lights on. The beds were lovely and comfy, and there were robes and slippers provided. Also more than enough towels for two people, plus additional bedding if we needed it. The air conditioning in our room was broken, but the hotel gave us a Dyson fan to keep cool, which was great. We didn't eat in the hotel, but the food prices seemed pretty reasonable. The room fridge was stocked with complimentary water, juice and chocolate biscuits, which we weren't expecting. There was and event taking place on the Saturday night of our visit, but we weren't disturbed at all by any noise. And bearing in mind the proximity to the train station, we didn't hear any noise from there either - possibly due to the internal room. Would definitely go back.

    • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Tracy L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Tracy,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location. We are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed the complimentary room items. We do hope to see you again soon.
    Best Wishes
    Christine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    very nice hotel helpful staff comfortably beds good shower.i loved the decor the mix of modern and vintage.The hotel was in a good central location for shops theatre and railway station. I would recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    Thank Liz B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thanks Liz for your great review following your recent theatre trip stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
    Best Wishes
    Christine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    My hubby and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and would defo return.
    The girl I booked with was really helpful and friendly and promised us a nice room, which we got.
    We had a good deal with breakfast both mornings, one evening meal and high tea included, all of which was delicious!
    We got a parking bay just outside the hotel, luckily as they only have 20.
    The swimming pool is a tad dated but had a steam room, sauna n plunge pool n had it to myself.
    The only downside to our stay was the noise outside the hotel, which is not the hotels fault..but we did ask for a room for people watching, just didnt expect it to be as bad as it was!
    Overall lovely stay, nice, friendly staff and will definitely stay again!

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank rangersgirl69
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and do hope to see you again in the near future.
    Best Wishes
    Christine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Great location for train travel and being in Newcastle. We chose to stay as had a very early train from Newcastle to London. The room was comfortable if a little bit dated. Unfortunately around 1 am the fire alarm went off ... 3 times in a row .. so took a bit to get back to sleep. We got out on time for our train anyway .... for easy location, nice comfortable bar area and comfortable rooms I would recommend the hotel and I’d stay again

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank AKS1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to her that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location and had a comfortable stay. We are sorry about the fire alarm unfortunately this was beyond our control but do apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.
    Best Wishes
    Christine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Good points
    * Location is sweet
    * Staff friendly and mostly helpful
    * Complimentary water and snacks
    * Comfortable bed
    * Powerful shower
    * Breakfast fine, but not ‘... probably the best breakfast ever...’ as another review describes it

    Poor Points
    * unable to charge to room
    * unable to change booking
    * empty shoe mitt box amongst toiletries
    * tiny towels
    * shower temperature control unresponsive
    * road noise
    * light leakage on curtains
    * cumbersome WiFi reg a joke
    * signage from station poor
    * unusual room number sequence in corridor


    Summary:
    *Meh

    Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    Thank Crispness
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location. Without any specific details with regards to your reservation I will try any respond to your points raised.

    We do offer all guests on check in the option of leaving a pre authorisation of a credit/debit card which allows any extras to be added to the room bill no problem and is settled on check out.

    With regards to amending your reservation, Again without any particular reservation details hard to give an accurate response, But generally speaking we always try our best to accommodate any changes that need to be made by our guests wherever we possibly can.

    With regards to the road noise, If we had been made aware of this we could of looked into moving your room towards the back of the hotel, However we do provide ear plugs in all rooms.

    We do have a maintenance team onsite to deal with any issues/problems that arise so again if we were made aware of the problem we can rectify straight away.

    Your comments concerning our housekeeping team have been passed over to them. Also other general feedback has been passed over to the management.

    We do once again thank you for your comments, We appreciate all feedback from our guests.
    Kind Regards
    Christine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews