We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Dun Cow

Dun Cow
Ranked #416 of 1 398 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Description: A brand new venue in Jesmond serving up craft ale, stunning food and great live entertainment! -Daily specials -Real ale -Beer garden -Quiz night Thursdays @ 8:30 -Vinyl Fridays - bring your own records and choose 3 tracks! -Live music on Fridays and Sundays -Sunday lunch until 7pm
Restaurant details
Description: A brand new venue in Jesmond serving up craft ale, stunning food and great live entertainment! -Daily specials -Real ale -Beer garden -Quiz night Thursdays @ 8:30 -Vinyl Fridays - bring your own records and choose 3 tracks! -Live music on Fridays and Sundays -Sunday lunch until 7pm
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped in hotel nearby but wanted something else to try and we saw the reviews of this place, so we give it a try. 10 of us throughly enjoyed it, the staff are brilliant it’s value for money and the food was fantastic! It’s off the main road but we managed to find it and so glad we did, if we ever come back up to Newcastle/Jesmond this place will a definite, people of Jesmond and Newcastle this should be your local it would be ours! Well done

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Wrights125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunCowJesmond, Public Relations Manager at Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for the super review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed Sunday lunch, beef and pork very good quality as were the veggies. Allows dogs and encourages families with a relaxed atmosphere and great staff.
Will be back!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunCowJesmond, General Manager at Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi there, so happy you enjoyed your visit yesterday and our Sunday roasts were up to your expectations. Come back soon! Gary French, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve been eating here regularly since it was reopened last year.
Honestly it started very well then seemed to lose its way a little bit but wow they’ve sorted a new menu that is much more suited to this local pub and also upped the quality by a long way in the process.
The Monday to Saturday food is very good only surpassed by lovely Sunday roasts.
Remember it is a pub so let’s not forget the great range of beers.
All in all a great pub serving very good food

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jezrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunCowJesmond, General Manager at Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us your feed back. We have recently launched our Grill Room menu which is a great addition to the food offerings and is receiving a very positive response. We are grateful for your support and we hope you continue to enjoy your experiences with us. Gary French, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Came here looking for a good Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed! Food was beautiful and not badly priced. The only thing I wish we had realised is that when you ask for extra puddings, the portion is 4 extra puddings, so maybe only order one portion between 2, not one each like we did (I mean they were eaten but boy were we full!)

Can't complain, really good food, staff and atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CStorey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunCowJesmond, General Manager at Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking time to give us your feed back. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Gary French, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We went here for Mother's Day as it is close to my daughters house. The two or three course meal was excellent value. All of us enjoyed our roasts, one of our party had the salmon which he also enjoyed. The food was cooked to order and was all piping hot, good choice of vegetables. The ideal place to take a student for a Sunday dinner!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunCowJesmond, General Manager at Dun Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Mothers day was a fantastic day for us all and we are pleased we ticked those boxes and you all enjoyed your experience with us. Gary French, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dun Cow also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Dun Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing