We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement meal”

Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland
Ranked #95 of 1 249 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$40
Description: SPECIALIST STEAK RESTAURANT & BAR Serving the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Wagyu and other great local meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: SPECIALIST STEAK RESTAURANT & BAR Serving the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Wagyu and other great local meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

Visited here for engagement anniversary meal and was very impressed from the start. Arrived early which wasn’t a problem and the staff sorted us out a table straight away and brought us drinks within 5 minutes. Food didn’t take long to arrive at all and was amazing as tomahawk always is!

All the staff were amazing with us and everyone else in the restaurant. Our servers Alex and Ruby made sure we never went without, were amazing all night!

Will 100% recommend to everyone and will be back!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank jadeturner95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2021

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent meals with us and that you were very impressed !
We are also very pleased to hear that you found the food to be amazing and that Ruby and Alex your servers took good care of you ensuring that you had everything that you needed !
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1 075 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2021

My wife and I visited for first time. Staff were pleasant and friendly but my wife received a meal not as described on the menu. Instead of boiled new potatoes and mixed greens she got stir fried noodles with her sea bass. Also our coffees were barely tepid and just drinkable. As per other reviewers, we won’t be returning. I can pay less money for much better meals elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gordon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your visit with us. We are happy to hear that you found our team to be pleasant and friendly. The seabass as described on the menu is served on a bed of Oriental noodles, pak choi and Asian vegetables, it is not served with new potatoes and mix greens, so I'm not sure if there was some confusion with another dish perhaps ? We shall of course pass all your feedback on to the team there.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021

Visited Saturday for my wife’s birthday. Seemed pretty busy upon arrival but managed to get a drink and seated fine, took a while for the order to come out and when it did… the steak was over cooked. Not the end of the world and easily rectified spoke to staff who took the steak away! But didn’t not return with another just an excuse as to why they couldn’t replace it. Spoke to the manager who was quite rude! Could not seem to get our point it was not about paying it was simply about having what we had asked for. A medium rare steak (in a steakhouse) should not be hard to cook. Very disappointing visit and will not return for another. The manager is rude, out of his depth and his people skills are terrible, unfortunate for tomahawk as a whole having a manager representing their name so badly. Spoke to a few other customers afterward who were equally disappointed. You win some you loose some. Would not recommend and would not return.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank A5287BHmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent meals with us and that your steak was not cooked as you requested and there was an issue in replacing it, this does not at all sound like the usually very high standards of customer service form our team, we will certainly be looking into the matter in more detail.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Really enjoyed our first trip food lovely and thank you to alex and courtney for great service and been nice due to recent bereavement

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Bono200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent first time visit with us and that you found the food to be lovely, and also that Courtney and Alex gave you great service and helped ensure you had an enjoyable meal with us !
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Visited on sat 2nd October for a birthday celebration . What a shambles !after travelling 20 miles to get here we were extremely disappointed! Chateaubriand came over cooked when we stated medium rare ,when we complained the manager stated on the check-back everything was ok. I had only just been delivered my food and didn’t check the with whole table.once everyone had tried their food the badly cooked steak had been tested. Because of this he tried to say that because we had 2 slices off it that he couldn’t replace it but took a round of drinks off the bill. Also the peppercorn sauce was inedible and too much like tomato sauce. Very poor.my wifes fillet was full of fat , the dog enjoyed it though!
The whole atmosphere felt as if they had overbooked and didn’t have enough staff, everyone was rushing around and getting order's wrong. The manager was totally out of his depth and should not be in this trade as he tried and failed miserably with our complaint ,and the many more we saw .while waiting for our taxi we spoke to 2 other parties who said their food was rubbish and wouldn’t be coming back and were not impressed by the service . Judging by the other reviews from October they are seriously lacking any knowledge and professionalism!
If you want a great steak DO NOT COME HERE!! Go to marco pierre whites ! Needless to say we will never return!

Date of visit: October 2021
2  Thank Blythchilibrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
We are extremely disappointed to hear your feedback and reflections on your recent visit with us and we sincerely apologise as this does not sound like the usually very high standards of food and service that we strive to provide all our guests. We shall certainly be looking into your feedback in more detail with the team there.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tomahawk Steakhouse Ponteland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.