We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good find!”
Review of Sorrel Horse

Sorrel Horse
Ranked #31 of 96 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Reputedly a Smugglers Inn dating back to the 15th century, The Sorrel Horse is the quintessential English country pub with tap drawn cask ales, a thatched roof, tiled floors and an original bar billiards table, nestled in a picturesque rural Suffolk village. Given our fantastic location on the Bawdsey Peninsula in glorious countryside, the pub is especially attractive to walkers, cyclists and the horse fraternity. Superb walks, open rolling countryside and the quiet and genteel nature of the area make the village a popular destination for visitors. With two bars you've a choice of both a restaurant or traditional bar for your food and drinks. The restaurant has a large wood burner, with the bar having a lovely open fire.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were staying just up the road in Sutton and chose this pub for lunch. The interior is basic but you can see that some recent improvements have been made including one of the poshest outdoor toilet blocks I have ever seen. We both had the excellent pork, chorizo and rosemary pie with mash and veg! Fab-u-Lous!

3  Thank Bandyrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks for choosing to visit us at the Sorrel Horse, we are glad that you appreciated the recent improvements to the toilets. We are finalising our plans to update the interior which are scheduled for later in the year. Thus we look forward to exciting and interesting times ahead so very much hope that you will visit us again soon to try a different homemade pie!

Yours
Team Sorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A busy Easter Sunday at the Sorrel but the food, service and atmosphere were fantastic. I had a delicious nut roast and all our large party were happy with their meals - many thanks and see you soon

1  Thank Fairysparkle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to publish this review. Easter Sunday was fun, I hope that you joined in the Easter Egg hunt on the pightle too?

The team are delighted that you all enjoyed your meals with us, and look forward to your next visit

Yours
Team Sorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Ideally situated if you are staying at the Shottisham camp site (but well worth travelling to if you are not). We noticed that they had just started doing a Sunday morning breakfast and it turned out to be one of the best breakfasts ever. No, seriously! All locally sourced produce on one enormous plate - magnificent.

Try the full English and also, the American pancakes with bacon and Maple syrup.

1  Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Sorrel Horse. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your breakfast at our inaugural sitting! It was an exciting day for us as we launched our new offering and thus your kind review warmed our hearts and encouraged us further.

We hope to see you again


Yours
Team Sorrel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We've visited the Sorrel Horse on and off for years and can honestly say it's better now than ever. Quality food at reasonable prices, friendly service and a good selection of local beers. Nice atmosphere too, with many local people ready to chat. Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank davidww2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review it is very much appreciated, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit

We look forward to welcoming you again

Regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I held my birthday party at the Sorrel Horse last Saturday and I can honestly say that I had the perfect evening. The owners let me use the large side room which had a lovely wood-burner and a bar. The food was excellent; genuine tapas and paella prepared by the Spanish chef with wines recommended by the owner. The Prosecco and the white Cotes de Gasciogne were superb. The staff were very attentive and professional throughout the evening. The evening just flew by and I would recommend the venue for anyone wanting to have a special celebration. Thanks guys!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank billmartin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thanks so much Bill, we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your special occasion with us. It was also a great pleasure for the team to have hosted you and your guests

With best personal regards
Team Sorrel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrel Horse also viewed

Framlingham, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 

Been to Sorrel Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing