We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your takeaways”
Review of The Royal Bengal

The Royal Bengal
Ranked #15 of 94 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$47
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a family run restaurant. The Royal Bengal first opened in 1982 by Mr Malik and his close friends. The dishes we serve have been specially selected. As well as having the classics we also have dishes you may have not come across before. Whether you choose to dine in or order a takeaway,we look forward to serving you.
Reviewed 9 October 2021

Really looking forward to a takeaway from here as its always really good. Even though we live 30 minutes away still ordered and collected. They were busy which was good to see and we drove home in happy anticipation.
Sadly when I unpacked my meal the mushroom bhaji was missing. Definitely ordered it but too late and too far away to go back so before you go home check you've got everything you ordered (and paid for). I wish I had and that's why I only have 3 *

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank lesleyfL2102GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2021

We were staying locally and decided to try this restaurant and are glad we did! The staff were polite and efficient, ready to explain anything on the menu if required. The range of choices was extensive and what we ate was absolutely delicious and well presented. The venue was spotless and plenty of space between tables. We chatted to the staff and they gave us a lovely surprise at the end of our meal. I won’t say what but it was such a personal touch and very much appreciated. We would definitely eat here again when In the area.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaireT675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2021 via mobile

A great choice of vegetarian options. Everything delicious especially the Brinjal Bhajee and mushroom bhajee. Our waiter was very helpful in familiarising us with more unusaual dishes in the menu and provided excellent service.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank SallyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

It is incredulous that this establishment has such good reviews. Can only assume the owners are writing them. Nearly 2 hours to get our starters, furciferous customer service, and the food was lamentable. Had better currys in weatherspoons, avoid!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank kirkh496
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash a, General Manager at The Royal Bengal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

kirKh496 after reading your accusations and miss information you have put on here does make one wonder....Ok first of all you did NOT wait 2 hours for the starters! time starts from the time order is placed not when you walk through the door. Secondly the accusation that we write our own reviews can you please show us those reviews? We work extremely hard to make sure everyone leaves happy especially in these hard times, If a customer leaves us a review good or bad we can take the feedback onboard, But to accuse us of writing our own reviews does make one feel irate. Furciferous customer service first time of being accused of that.....food lamentable? not one person complained about the starters or mains had positive feedback from the table when checking and making sure everyone were happy with food. Had better curry at weathersppons? First of all it's Wetherspoons and well what can we say. All we can say if you are not happy with what you order please let the restaurant know and not destroy small businesses reputation with exaggerated inaccurate point of views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place. Whole range of interesting Bengali and Goan sauces - those we had were superb - and really nice and helpful staff. If I have one comment, it is clear from our visit that more money is made from take-away as compared to eat-in (at least on Sunday), but a little more attention to restaurant would have sold more drinks. But 5/5 as food was super.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank 886duncanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash a, General Manager at The Royal Bengal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Bengal also viewed

Wickham Market, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Royal Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.