We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Meal”

Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #74 of 226 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Price range: US$41 - US$70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: With a fantastic menu filled with delicious innovative takes on the classics and dishes inspired by different regions of France, there's something to suit everyone. Our courtyard garden is a wonderful place to while away the afternoon or enjoy patio dinning when the sun shines. The restaurant is the perfect setting in which to meet friends or just unwind over a glass of your favourite. This Suffolk market town has a rich history with plenty to see and do in the area, including nearby attractions such as the St Edmunds Cathedral and Moyse's Hall Museum.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I had the French onion soup and it’s alright. Satisfies a soup craving but not quite above average. The steak frites was pretty good too, but again, nothing special. I wish they offered complimentary bread with the meal like many restaurants in France do. Our service was terribly slow as well. We were going order wine to begin with, but by the time the waiter came to get our drink/ food orders, it had been about 20 min and we were starving so we opted to just order food at that point.

Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe Rouge B, General Manager at Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Bonjour,
Thank you for taking the time to do us a review.
We would welcome the chance to find out more about your time with us and provide a more personal response, if you could leave some additional details of your visit to bury@caferouge.co.uk. We will be in touch.
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Called in for a meal last night on our wedding anniversary. Our main meals had obviously been standing out for a while and mine was cold. It was taken back into the kitchen and returned slightly warmer. When it was returned the couple on the next table asked the waiter to take their meals back to the kitchen to be heated also. We could have called on a night when they were having problems, but as there were only five tables occupied I doubt it. We will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe Rouge B, General Manager at Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Bonjour,
Thank you for taking the time to do us a review.
We would welcome the chance to find out more about your time with us and provide a more personal response, if you could leave some additional details of your visit to bury@caferouge.co.uk. We will be in touch.
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Today I took my clients for lunch at Cafe Rouge as they had never been before. Anita the waitress was very attentive and polite and as I had a voucher she said it was acceptable and we ordered accordingly... . Manager
over rode her decision when we got the bill, which embarrassed her in front of us. I think he should have been courteous and honoured it as we probably now won’t go again.
Anita was lovely but couldn’t say that about the ‘grumpy ’ manager.

1  Thank J777TES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe Rouge B, General Manager at Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Bonjour,

I am unsure if you should have added this review to a different restaurant. We do not have an Anita working here but I'm glad her service was attentive.

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Went for a nice pre-cinema meal. Service was good so starters and main course ordered. Starters really nice and waited a little while for our medium rare sirloin steaks to arrive but we weren't in any particular rush. Checked both steaks and they were more 'blue' than med/rare. Had them replaced to find one was still 'blue' and the other rare/blue! Called the manager who apologised saying that the chef was normally very good with steaks albeit we suggested he sack the chef as one table near us had also returned a steak for not being correct while another table returned two burgers because they weren't cooked correctly. We enjoyed a desert and coffee and the staff were most apologetic although we said it wasn't their fault. to be fair to the manager we were not charged (quite rightly) for both steaks but he also took another £12 off the bill.
We probably won't eat there again as there are so many good restaurants in the town to choose from and we have had occasion to not be too satisfied with the food and/or service in this particular Cafe Rouge.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank banders352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe Rouge B, General Manager at Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Bonjour,
Thank you for taking the time to do us a review.
We would welcome the chance to find out more about your time with us and provide a more personal response, if you could leave some additional details of your visit at our contact page -(caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit). We will be in touch.
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Saturday evening, not busy. We were greeted with " Have you booked" After checking that we had we were told that our table was in the corner, we were not shown to our table.
A waiter came for our drinks order and we chose a bottle of house red to be told they did not have any. We then chose a bottle of malbec and a bottle of merlot arrived so we had to point out the mistake for which we received an apology.
Food is usually fine in Cafe Rouge it is our chain of choice but for two courses food arrived followed by cutlery and yes another apology each time.
Sitting in sight of the bar the staff were concentrating on one team member successfully fitting a screen protector to his phone and more emphasis was placed on this than serving guests.
After dessert without a prompt the same member who failed to greet us properly then produced our bill to the table. Disappointingly for her she had to redo it as we had a discount voucher.
With such poor service the food then takes second place. A chain is only as strong as its weakest link and when the front door is left open by a guest to let the icy blast in to fellow diners and no employee goes to shut the door I think best summarises their attitude to customer service. Not sure if a manager was present but the team were not being managed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe Rouge B, General Manager at Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Bonjour,
Thank you for taking the time to do us a review.
We would welcome the chance to find out more about your time with us and provide a more personal response, if you could leave some additional details of your visit at Bury@caferouge.co.uk. We will be in touch.
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing