We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 15:00
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful church

Make sure you visit this church as well as the cathedral down the road. Friendly guides to welcome... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
DavidC936
,
Telford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing!

Just round the corner from our hotel, this was on our 'must visit' list, and what a fascinating... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2018
Rocko1947
,
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Read all 100 reviews
  
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
67
31
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
31
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary tudor carved angels hammer beam roof west window final resting place buried here stained glass henry vii wooden ceiling younger sister family service well worth a visit tony mbe warm welcome grave longest ship
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

this is a must to visit mary tudor buried there which mary rose was names after a must to visit staff very friendly keep up good work well dony tony mbe

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Once again, a lovely place to visit. I don't know how building the roof was managed all those centuries ago. The craft work was beautiful.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank susieq4692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

My personal opinion of course, but I really thought the church's stained glass and high ceilings stood out tremendously. In addition, the floor of the church consists of graves of important people that were either of noble blood or contributed to the church in some large way.

While not much different from other Gothic churches in England, it still offers a beautiful site and religious experience for different audiences.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank AmandaA4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

I have been to St Mary's Church before but this time took my niece and her three year old daughter. This wonderful church has a wooden ceiling with carved angels and is truly beautiful. What many people don't know is that Henry VIIIs sister, Mary Tudor, is buried here. She was married to Louis XII of France, who was very much older than her and she only married him after Henry VIII promised that when he died she could marry whoever she chose. When Louis died, she married Henry's best friend, Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk, much to Henry's chagrin and for a time he barred Mary and Charles from Court. Mary was also a very good friend to Henry's first wife, Katherine of Aragon and rejected like Anne Boleyn! When Mary died she was interred at St Mary's Church in Bury St Edmunds and is the only Queen of France to be buried in the UK.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank _sosages1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I was lucky enough to be there on 10 th April when the organ was being played: thank you it was beautiful. The attendant was very helpful and obviously loves his very beautiful church.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank susan_mc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews