We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second visit confirmed what a great place this is”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge with open fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge with open fire
Guest Bedroom with ensuite with thoughtful touches to make your stay special
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge with open fire
Guest Bedroom with ensuite
with thoughtful touches to make your stay special
On a quiet pedestrian street just moments from the sea...
Room for everyone to relax together
Chic beach theme in the lounge
Guest Bedroom 2  - with view over courtyard garden
ample storage here too..
Guest Bedroom 1 - Lots of storage space
Ground Floor Guest Bedroom with French doors to courtyard garden
Bunk Bedroom
with playful seaside theme
Large well equipped modern kitchen
with all you need
and plenty of room to enjoy a meal too
Ground Floor Shower Room
Light Bright Family Bathroom
A safe place to relax or play outside
View across Aldeburgh Beach right on your doorstep
View across Aldburgh Beach
View Across Aldeburgh Beach
View Across Aldeburgh Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kiri18
London
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Second visit confirmed what a great place this is”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our second visit to the Red brick House was at least as succesful as the first.
Got a lovely welcome, with some essentials (including wine!) and once again a spotless house.
I went with different friends this time and they loved it too. The location is perfect, house very clean and well kitted out, and with good quality items. Essentials are there, not taken away after each guest (such as salt/spices/washing tablets, hand soap etc. etc.) and you are definitely not 'nickel and dimed' at this property.
And they now have WiFi, which is very useful and have moved the key box to a more accessible position!
Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality and location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCRLondon
North London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely house, brilliant position, had everything we wanted and more”
Reviewed 22 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed in this house with a mixed age family group, age 4 -mid 70's.
Easy flat walk to the beach and town, great sized rooms, all linen included, lots of hanging space for clothes, really well equipped house with lots of extra little touches, basic cooking ingredients, tea and coffee for staters, tealights, snuggle blankets on sofa if needed, books, dvds etc etc

Brilliant house in a great town, will definitely recommend and stay again!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, size of property and cleanliness and really well equipped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katz1973
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Luxurious Aldeburgh Retreat.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Really great location for a holiday rental and detactched so we werent scared about the noise of us all laughing into the small hours! The only aspect in terms of location is that it would have been useful to know where to park. The road is pedestrianised and therefore you have to park and walk with bags which is fine when you can park on the yellow lines out of hours but might be more of an issue during the day.

You can park cars for free on the road above and walk down around 20 steps. Possibly just useful to know this.

The key is kept on one of those security box things and is very low down, if you had problems going on your knees etc this might be tricky. I also arrived in pitch black and without my phone for light, I would have struggled to open the safe.

The house itself it big and spacious and is extremly well equipped, even had dish washer tabs and washing up liquid (which I havent always found in some) It was a pleasure to cook there and I was delighted with sharp knives (again rare).

It had the normal CD/DVD/Board games, but maybe an IPod player would be a good adittion.

Location wise you are near DP's pub, which was hand but I might imagine noisier in summer.

The house had three bathrooms and plenty of hot water, there were enough lights and lamps and it was furnished to a really high standard.

I would definately go here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor was charming, relaxing and beach chic
Liked least: Having to retrieve the key from the key box in the dark and rain, crouching down!!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2012
We welcome all feedback as we know its one of the best ways to learn how we can improve. In response to comments on parking etc we now, in addition to responding to specific requests for information, include driving and parking instructions on our pre-visit information letter. We are also moving the key safe to a more accesible and better lit location! Thank you to all our guests for helping us improve our service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thrimpy
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We found the property perfect for a mini-break. Access was simple and the owners very helpful pore-visit. House was bright airy & very clean throughout. Quite tricky to find and parking difficult. Try Park Lane/The Terrace. Recently installed wi-fi was perfect and quick. Its in a superb location - just off the high street (so very quiet) but with newsagents pubs shops and a superb restaurant within 200 yards! 4 bedrooms and only 1 ensuite but the bath is very nice. Simply but pleasantly furnished. The lounge is particularly nice and relaxing. Kitchen is small and tight if there are more than 4/5 of you. The town and nearby villages/towns Orford - Southwold - very much worth a look.
Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: dvd didnt work
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
364Tania...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in the Perfect Location”
Reviewed 1 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at the cottage for a long weekend in late October and had a fantastic time. The location of the cottage is perfect- only a minute from the beach and from the High Street. The High St in Aldeburgh has a fine collection of pubs and restaurants. We would particularly recommend the Lighthouse restaurant.
The cottage was modern, clean and has all the essentials for a comfortable stay. The welcome pack was particularly useful. The bedrooms are light and airy and there were a good number of bathrooms for the number of guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing