We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub food!”
Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Ranked #14 of 259 Restaurants in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: We acquired the Saracens Head back in early 2016 when we opened the doors after only small and minimal changes had been completed. In August 2017 we carried out a 3-month refurbishment and were delighted to open on 30th November to give this village pub a new lease of life. Providing a family (and dog) friendly, rustic country pub environment is something that we have been looking forward to for some time and we are thrilled to be able to offer this to the locals and ‘not so locals’ to enjoy. Our Kitchen team have worked hard to create a flavour filled gastro menu, take away pizza menu and also breakfast. The Saracens Head boasts a large sunny patio to enjoy in the summer with a real ale whilst in the colder months you are able to cosy up in front of our log burner in The Log Store with a glass of mulled wine. We look forward to welcoming you to join us at the Saracens Head.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Since this pub has been bought by Weston Hall and recently refurbished, it is now a great place for pub food. Went here with the family, the service was good and the food was excellent. Had the fish and chips and was impressed. Not expensive and looking forward to going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Owner at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Adam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your overall experience with us and found us to be good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What a difference a new look makes. A total refurbishment has created a contemporary decorated restaurant with a completely different vibe to the previous layout. Nicely spaced out tables for couples and groups, lovely china and a clean, clear menu with delicious options. Gluten Free catered for without any fuss by a friendly knowledgable waitress.
The whole place had a welcoming buzz of happy dinners. We had the steak and fish of the day. Highly recommended as a new local favourite

1  Thank Sproxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Owner at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Sproxo, Thank you for visiting us here at the Saracen Head and taking the time to leave us a review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our new look since refurbishing. I'm glad you enjoyed the selection on our menu and we were able to show you the gluten free options with no problems. We look forward to welcoming back! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This old traditional pub has had a makeover bringing a sharp contemporary look but tastefully done.
Unlike some makeovers that stop at the bathroom door, this one has cleaned up and sharpened the whole pub. The main entrance is now up a ramp, past modern washrooms (including an "accessible" one) and into a modernised main area that blends the old and the new.

The bar has a good number of hand pumps, the menu has the traditional pub fayre, a good number of steaks and a surprising number of pizzas. There is also a pizza takeaway service though the choice is different to inside the pub.

All the staff were helpful and friendly. The waiting staff seemed very young (am I getting old?)

The tables were nicely spaced allowing you to move around easily, there were some themed rooms (oak room, garden room) and large windows overlooking their garden to the rear. We arrived after dark so I can't say very much about the rear garden except it is fenced (to corral children?) has tables and a view over the countryside to the back.

Very much enjoyed our meals, we both tried the duck pizza which was very good. The titanic plum porter smelled like plum pudding and was delicious, though probably best in half pints rather than a larger glass as its fairly strong.

I would be happy to recommend this pub to everyone. I didn't see any children this evening so I can't comment on high-chairs though... it's new and looks like they have thought of most things - I'm sure high chairs were tidily stored somewhere...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Igneous_Yacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Owner at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Igneous_Yacht. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. I'm very happy to hear you had a pleasant overall experience with us, and enjoyed our new decor since our refurbishment. Also regards to the highchairs we do have them at our venue and welcome families. I'm glad you enjoyed our food and drink selection and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Been invited out for lunch to celebrate my birthday. Returned to the pub after many years.Had been in uncle Peter's management for many years.Structually front not changed very much.The inside is absolutely stunning with lovely views.Good food excellent seeviceThanks for looking after us so well

Thank Ragna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Ragna. Thanks for your review of our venue! How lovely it was in your family prior to us, thanks for your kind comments about the service and food. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This was our first visit since it’s refurbishment and I was excited to see what they have done as this use to be our local pub. The extension and refurbishment had been done nicely although we are not sure about the grey paint on the exterior of the pub. The food we had was delicious and a good selection on the menu. Staff were friendly but had some difficulty in remembering our drinks order and kept coming to our table with the wrong drinks. Although we will definitely come again

3  Thank maz_caley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Maz. Thanks for reviewing our newly refurbished venue. Thanks for the comments about our food and menu selection, I can only apologise regarding the drinks, but overall glad you had a good experience. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing