We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre holiday meal”
Review of Shire Horse

Shire Horse
Get food delivered
Ranked #36 of 235 Restaurants in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Great environment, staff trying their best, loads of food on menu not available.
Seasonable cocktails and specials menu not available.. Chose three dishes only to be told not available!
Staff polite but not always attentive.
Menu looks good but VERY overpriced for the amount you get.
Sadly would not be on my list to revisit

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Hi there Lynda, thank you for taking the time to share this honest feedback with us. We're so sorry to read that on this occasion there were several menu items unavailable to you. We'll make sure to pass your feedback onto the entire team for future consideration. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for a much better experience overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1 563 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2021

Such a shame cos the pub is nice and so are staff but Frozen chips, overcooked food including the chicken, fish, beans and peas. I would have expected to pay no more than £8 per meal not £13. I would rather have gone to eat at a Wetherspoons.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 25REDS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your food and felt that it was poor value. Thank you for letting us know and we will review this with the team. We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Staying next door un the Premier Inn.
Booked a meal for 6 phoned to say due to traffic we d b slightly late for arrival .
The host said that wouldn't b a problem.
Was shown to table and the staff made us feel so welcome.
They took drinks order straight away and gave us sufficient time to view and chose from the menu .
Steaks were fantastically cooked and presented. As was the fish and rest of meals . Not a morsel left on the plates .
And plenty of prosecco drunk specially on the Friday deal .
Place was busy so highly recommend to pre book .
Staff were fantastic ,accommodating to the children's strange requests .
Can't go wrong with this place and they even understand our Scottish n Northern accents

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 886issach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It's fantastic to hear that you found the team so welcoming and accommodating during your visit, and that you all enjoyed your meals so much. We will be sure to share this with all the team, and we know that it will really make their day knowing you had such a lovely time. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back if you return to the area again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

We visited the Shire Horse when we stopped overnight at the adjacent hotel. We were welcomed by Tim, who showed us to our table. Becky took our order for drinks and food. Our drinks were promptly delivered by another member of the hard working team. Our food followed soon after and we enjoyed well cooked and presented dishes. Over all, a most enjoyable experience. Credit to Tim, Becky and the team. Well recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Yorkshire_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

It's lovely to hear your wonderful feedback regarding your visit, especially regarding the team and the service they provided. Tim and Becky will be absolutely delighted to know they made such an impression. We really appreciate your recommendation and hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

Visited with family. Good amount of veggie options. Staff really friendly/welcoming - particularly Lorna. Would be very happy to go again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ryanjA234KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hi Ryan,

Thank you taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We really appreciate you letting us know how we did.

We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience. Your compliments will be passed on to Lorna, she will be really happy to hear you had a good time.

Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shire Horse also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Shire Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.