We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil location with views of bucolic...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stokewood Barn

The holiday let is the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The holiday let is the first floor
Stokewood Barn is to the right Home comforts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The holiday let is the first floor
Stokewood Barn is to the right
Home comforts!
The Wood-Burning Stove - the Barn is also heated by night storage heating
The open-plan living area
The very comfortable double bed
The fully equipped kitchen area, and dining area.
Plenty of storage
Showing access to the first floor rental
View across Rodney Stoke from above the Barn
To the right of this isolated and idyllic Valley in the Mendips!
Stokewood Barn - an idyllic retreat!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PhileasDe...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tranquil location with views of bucolic countryside”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Although small, the space in the barn is well used so you don't feel cramped. It is a cosy, warm and romantic room for two. The little garden is private, quiet and gets sunshine all day until early evening. There is a stunning bluebell wood right next door with a walk through it to the top of the Mendips. The wildlife is amazing, with a wide range of birdsong, sheep and lambs in spring, bullocks, pheasants, owls, and signs of badgers. Honor is a very pleasant and accommodating host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: Wi-fi was erratic and mostly unavailable in the evenings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmyBea...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Charming, beautiful place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed 3 nights in this gorgeous converted barn and wished we could have stayed longer.

Spotlessly clean, with everything provided for. It was lovely to have tea/coffee provided.

The log fire alone is worth the money- we loved sitting in front of it with a glass of merlot and a good book.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. They suggested the local pub to us, which provided a very pleasant meal. It was fun to walk back to the barn using the provided torch later on!

Ideally located for visiting Cheddar and Wells, which are a 5 min drive away. Bath was only a 45 minute drive too.

Definitely recommended for those who want peace and quiet; the sheep and owls were great to hear. This really is a stunning location, and we will be coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De4Hazen
Scherpenzeel, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It was really a fantastic house. Very cosey and clean, with al the equipment you need.
We had a wonderful week in Stokewood Barn. There is also a lovely private garden for the visitors. We didn't use it, but in summer we think its very nice.
We've spend our evenings bij the wood burning stove.
The surrounding area and views were so very nice. We will recommand this house to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feels like home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toad2306
Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable barn with stunning views”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had three nights at the barn, which was very comfortable. The barn was quiet and enjoyed far reaching views of the surrounding countryside. It was great to wake up in the morning and hear the birds outside. We would highly recommend this barn.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarroom...
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely little place in a beautiful location. We stayed for 3 nights and found it to be utterly charming. Met all our needs. Good location close to Wells and Cheddar.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing