We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive - but there’s not too much to see”
Review of Glastonbury Abbey

Glastonbury Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67,21*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Glastonbury
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hidden jewel in the heart of Somerset, Glastonbury Abbey is traditionally associated with the earliest days of Christianity in Britain and figures such as Joseph of Arimathea, St Patrick and St David. It is also the resting place for three Saxon kings and the legendary King Arthur. Set in 36 acres of parkland in the middle of the town, the histories, mysteries and myths of Glastonbury Abbey define it as a place of extraordinary spiritual significance. Open 364 days a year, welcoming dogs on short leads, with summer cafe, costumed guides, accredited museum and gift shop.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately, centuries of quarry use have not left much here. What is left is impressive though, as the immense size of the former abbey becomes visible. Nice little add-on is the preserved abbot‘s kitchen. Somewhat overpriced for what can be seen - as long if you don’t believe that thus isn’t the former grace of King Arthur...

Thank trooper92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Public Relations Manager at Glastonbury Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to feedback - we really appreciate all comments.
Really sorry to hear that you felt it was overpriced; we do offer discounted online admission up until 6pm the day before a visit and our prices are comparable with similar heritage attractions. We are also an independent charity and rely on visitor income and donations in order to conserve the ruins for future generations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"king arthur"
in 184 reviews
"guided tour"
in 74 reviews
"abbots kitchen"
in 32 reviews
"herb garden"
in 36 reviews
"lady chapel"
in 21 reviews
"beautiful ruins"
in 19 reviews
"grounds are lovely"
in 16 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 15 reviews
"henry viii"
in 34 reviews
"informative museum"
in 14 reviews
"resting place"
in 26 reviews
"wildlife area"
in 13 reviews
"buried here"
in 13 reviews
"walk around"
in 30 reviews
"small museum"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 46 reviews
"entry fee"
in 14 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 1 456 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed the peace, tranquillity and history of the site. Impressive. Dog friendly too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Public Relations Manager at Glastonbury Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback - we will pass it on to the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly what great value for money. The museum is interesting and the wow factor as you walk out into the ruins. The site is lovely, much bigger than expected and beautiful. We had food at the summer cafe on site- cooked to order and really friendly staff (all staff on the whole site that we encountered were so friendly). Whilst none of the food from the menu we wanted was available the choices we chose were really tasty. The food was good value and what a stunning place to eat lunch.
The only thing that would have added to the enjoyment of the visit would have been an audio tour for the site- I feel that even with the guide book us and our children would have got more out of the visit with an audio tour.
They do have a lovely wildlife trail and play / entertainment packs for children (which we didn’t need for ours age 7 and 10 because they were enthralled by the site itself) but imagine great for younger children when you want to sit / lie and relax to enjoy the beauty of the site.
If you know you are going before 6pm the previous day then you can book on line for an advance booking discount. Really worth a visit on a dry day.

1  Thank ZWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Public Relations Manager at Glastonbury Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for giving such comprehensive feedback; we really appreciate it and are so pleased you enjoyed your day with us. We will take on board your comments about an audio guide and explore this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On our trip to Wiltshire we stopped by in Glastonbury to see the town and the abbey.
So nice place whit a lot of history in. It’s nice to see that they keep this old buildings and preserve it for the future. So well wert a visit.
Don’t miss King Arthur’s old tumb place.

Thank Magnusigbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Public Relations Manager at Glastonbury Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback; we're glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to have a grown up day out in the Glastonbury area, having visited the Tor we decided to finish off the day in the Abbey and what a treat this was, fantastic grounds and ruins with plenty of space to enjoy the sculptures and buildings without feeling you were having to rush around - would certainly recommend it

Thank oxonchris2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Public Relations Manager at Glastonbury Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments; we're glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glastonbury Abbey also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Glastonbury Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing