We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Venue for groups”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallet Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Twin bedroom
Single Room
Our very own zipwire - just one of the activities we can arrange for you if you dare!
Mendips are fantastic for biking..
As well as accomodation, we can offer and arrange all sorts of outdoor pursuits.
Dinning Room
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Front of Kitchen
Lounge with open fire!!!
Lounge
Bedroom 8
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
harrylond...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue for groups”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I booked this a few months in advance for a Stag do of 20, and became a little worried after reading a few of the reviews on here. I am happy to report that Swallet Farm exceeded my expectations - it was a fantastic venue. The living and dining areas were spacious, the bedrooms clean and comfortable. The washing facilities may be in a central area, but the showers themselves were powerful and hot. Furnishings are not brand new, but for us that was one less thing to worry about! Rich gave us very generous check-in/out times, which meant we were not in a crazy rush to turf everyone out on the final day.

The only thing that prevented me giving a full 5-stars was the lack of wi-fi, which combined with the poor phone reception and remote location made directing people in a bit of a headache.

All in all, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louboo83
1 review
“We 💜 swallet farm”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I can't fault our stay. We booked for my sister's hen weekend, everyone lover the location and found the accommodation really comfortable, the beds were so comfy! All the kitchen utensils you could dream of! Spacious living and dining areas...I'm desperately trying to think of an occasion we can come back for! thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren211...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay if a small scout group”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Let me start this review by saying, we were a group of male friends that met at polytechnic looking for a get together with drinks and catch-up over a weekend. Trying to remember our youth, we had an excellent time with the odd drink or two.
The main reason for the two star rating is because if we had taken our families we would have likely be looking for a local hotel but it suited our needs for a get together.
Our criteria for picking this property
1. Availability
2. Eight bedrooms for individuals
It met those two easily, however failed on lots of other things.
Positives
1. Location
2. Amount of rooms
3. Off-Grid
Negatives
1. No internet, it’s a powerline type adapter feeding off another source. It drops constantly, if you do connect, it’s pitiful, you are better using the personal hotspot on your phone.
a. Owners if you can look at wiring in a hard connection to a decent access point this might resolve this but depends on the overall connection coming to the location.
2. AGA. It’s turned off, you can start it again, but ready to wait a few hours at least.
3. Cooking facilities are very small for the amount of beds, so would question large parties in it but obviously it has be done in the past.
4. Remotes for TV / Hifi, working ones would be nice.
5. Mobile reception is limited depending on provider but you are in the country it’s to be expected.
6. The farm is cold despite all heating on and insufficient wood supplied for a day, let alone a weekend.
7. Bedding has seen better days, either heavily stained that washing is not bringing out or a good use of Febreze has been applied.
8. The shower block is precisely that, a shower block, heating is ineffective but the showers do come hot after a time of keeping them on.
9. Floors are not clean in the slightest, you will be binning socks if going round in socks only.

In essence this farm was renovated in the 1980’s as an outdoor pursuit centre and it’s still like that and possibly the bedding is from then too.
Tips
1. If planning to eat with a large party at the Castle of Comfort (local pub) book well in advance.
2. I would ask about a log supply if staying for a long period in colder parts of the year.
3. The key box is tricky but bear with it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amount of rooms
Liked least: bedding cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It wasn't what I expected!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed here with 12 other ladies for a good friend's hen do. It's perfect for large groups as there are so many bedrooms and space! However, I felt like we were staying in some kind of boarding school! The bank of showers in the basement was frankly, a bit creepy, and very very basic. In fact, I only had one shower and it was really cold. In fact, the whole downstairs area was really cold! We had two fires burning and we were still wrapped in blankets and jumpers! They really need a rug or something on the cold stone floor. We specifically asked about towels before we went but arrived to find no towels whatsoever which was problematic! We then discovered a bag of dirty towels sitting in the laundry room. The whole place was a bit dirty too. It looked like the person who was meant to do the cleaning just hadn't! I would have expected someone to check these things before their guests were expected to arrive. It was difficult to play music too considering the wifi was so terrible! Having said that, the location was great; secluded and peaceful. We had a good time but I was really disappointed in the house itself. It could be so much better.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and outside of the building
Liked least: the weird bank of showers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dishmeist...
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So much potential...”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Swallet Farm in the middle of August 2015 as part of a group of approximately 20 people including 10 children.

The location itself is great, middle of nowhere, quiet and secluded.
The property is sign posted off the main road so you can see it at night like we did. Access to the property is via a farm access track that has lots of deep potholes. Fine if you have SUV, Land rover, not so fine if you have a sports car or a vehicles with a low sump.
The external vista of the property is very nice and there ample supply of wood for the wood burner.

Unfortunately this is where the positives end.
All of the rooms need a proper clean, paint and refurb. There was dust and cobwebs everywhere, the floor was dirty and the carpets where available shabby and threadbare. Sofas and chairs in the lounge are old and not very nice or too low to sit in comfortably, one of the sofas smelt of urine so we had to cover it with a blanket.

The bedrooms vary in size and have a combination of singles, doubles and bunks and each has a sink. Bed linen though may have been washed had stains on them which did not give our group much comfort. The room we had had a small double and single. The double was fine but the single was uncomfortable due to a cheap mattress where you can feel the springs. Spare pillows and blankets were available to make the stay a little more comfortable.
There are no en-suites or separate showers/bathrooms but a single shower block with 6 cubicles with dated 70's décor! Showers are operated by a single timed push button with no control for temperature. You have to keep pushing the button to get water which unfortunately was tepid at the very best. If bathing small children in a shower is difficult under normal conditions, try doing it when the water is cold. It would be impossible to bath babies not that you would want to in any case.
The kitchen and utility was well stocked with utensils - though some of them were dirty as the industrial dishwasher had not cleaned them properly. The kitchen and utility felt grubby and needs a full renovation. The ovens/cooker did not look clean and the fridge was leaking water onto the tiled floor. One of the other fridges was not operational. The AGA was not switched on and therefore we couldn't use it.
The dining room was fine to site a large group but again needs a full refurb.

Outside there is reasonable parking. You need to be aware that there is a small pond down an incline that could be dangerous for small children.

In summary the farm has great potential but desperately needs full renovation and continued maintenance. New furniture, beds, mattresses and bed linen is required.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing